2015 Reading Challenges Report

I can’t believe it’s only 4 days left until 2016! 2015 has definitely been a great reading year. I participated in 2 reading challenges this year, Goodreads 2015 Reading Challenge and Popsugar 2015 Reading Challenge. I’m really sure I could finished them all, but well… things happened. So did I finished them? Let’s take a look at the details!

Goodreads Reading Challenge

I did it! For the Goodreads Reading Challenge, I read more than what I expected. I set my goals around 65 books, but I managed to read 72 books.I actually think I read more than 73 books, since I don’t add to curently-reading shelves all books I re-read. And I’m currently reading 3 books, so yeah. I guess I did pretty well here. It was less than my last year’s goal, but I barely finished last year’s challenge, so I’m pretty happy with this year’s results!

Popsugar’s 2015 Reading Challenge

Unfortunately, I failed the Popsugar’s one. I am a moody reader, and it’s hard to read something when you’re not in the mood to read it. I have around 6 unfinished category. Here’s the details, and all links would lead to my reviews 🙂

v Book with more than 500 pages: The Enchantress by Michael Scott
v Classic romance: Emma by Jane Austen
v Book turned into movie: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
v Book published this year: Ensnared by A.G Howard
v Book with number in the title: #88 Love Life by Diana Rikasari
v Book by someone under 30: Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi
v Book with non-human characters: Cinder by Marissa Meyer
v Funny book: Greek Gods by Rick Riordan
v Book by female author: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
v Mystery/Thriller: The Twins Daughter by Lauren Baratz-Longsted
v One word title: Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma
v Short stories: Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K Rowling
v Set in different country: The Warlock by Michael Scott
v Non-fiction: Who Was King Tut? by Roberta Edwards
v Popular Author’s first book: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
v A book by author you love that you haven’t read: Serpent’s Shadow by Rick Riordan
v Friend Recommended: A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E Schwab
v Pulitzer Prize Winner: To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee
v Based on true story: Soppy by Phillipa Rice
v Bottom of to-read: Moonlight by Rachel Hawthorne
x Mom loves (my mom doesn’t read any books so…)
v Scary: Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
v More than 100 years old: Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
v Based on cover: Perfect Ruin by Lauren deStefano
v Supposed to read in school: Catatan Seorang Demonstran by Soe Hok Gie
v A memoar: The Memoar of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
v A book you can finish in a day: If I Stay by Gayle Forman
v Antonyms in the title: Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins
v Set somewhere you wanted to visit: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
x Came out the year you were born (I planned to read Stardust by Neil Gaiman, but didn’t have time)
v Bad reviews: Medicci’s Dagger by Cameron West
v A Trilogy: The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo
x Childhood favorites (I planned to read Edgar & Ellen by Charles Ogden, but again, I didn’t have time)
v Love triangle: Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi
v Set in the future: Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi
v Set in high school: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell
v Color in the title: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
v Made you cry: The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
v A book with magic: Silver by Talia Vance
v A graphic novel: Through the Woods by Emily Caroll
v A book by author you never read: A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall
x Set in hometown (I don’t read any Indonesian books so….)
v Originally written in different language: Persuasion by Jane Austen
v Set during christmas: My True Love Gave to Me
x Author with same initials (I can’t find any authors with T.D initials???)
v Play: William Shakespeare’s Star Wars by Ian Doescher
x Banned book (I just don’t know what to read)
v Turned TV Show: Outlander by Dianna Gabaldon (Halfway through)
v Started never finished: Delirium by Lauren Oliver

(Phew! That was a lot!) I think I did a pretty good job with this challenge, even though I didn’t finished it. I managed to read more books outside my comfort zone (nonfiction, graphic novels) and I actually find myself enjoying them!

Will I join reading challenges next year? Yes! But I will only join the Goodreads one, and skip Popsugar’s. I hate the feels of being pressured of reading something I’m not in the mood for 😄

Did you participated in any reading challenge this year? How does it turn out?
4 thoughts on “2015 Reading Challenges Report

  1. Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity says:

    Congratulations on completing your Goodreads challenge! And you did so well with the other one, as well. I saw the one for this year, and I almost contemplated doing it, but I don't like reading books because I have to, so I ultimately decided I wasn't going to do it, haha.

    I completed both the challenges I set for 2015! I read more than 125 books for the Goodreads Challenge, and I read more than 10 books for the LGBT+ Challenge. I'm so happy 😀 I hope I can keep it up this year.

    Good luck with your Goodreads Challenge for 2016!

    Like

  2. Fiona Bernadine says:

    Wow, this was such a long list! I'm glad that you were able to complete your reading challenges this year, although you weren't able to finish the other one. I totally understand that, because there are really times when you don't feel like reading this certain book so you opted to read you think you're feeling good about. Congratulations on this, sister!

    On a side note, I want to tell you that this coming 2016 I wish you more great books to read and more people to meet! Cheers to you, Tasya! Thank you for being part of my blogging life this 2015! ❤

    Fiona | A Girl Between the Pages

    Like

Leave a Reply

