Review Anthology: Halloween Read-A-Thon

In the spirit of Halloween (even though my country doesn’t celebrate it), I’ve been listening/watching/reading a lot of creepy related stuff. One of the way is by joining the read-a-thon hosted by Wonderless Review. How did I do? Well, I think I did pretty well. Was I spooked? Absolutely yes. Let’s see what I think about the books I read for the readathon.
21396303Does this cover creep you out? If it doesn’t, I salute you. Bloody Mary is one of the scariest ghost out there, so reading this one was a challenge for me. It was a really good book, with gothic and suspenseful atmosphere, crazy twists, and unpredictable stories in general. The characters, however, are really flat and card board cut outs. Our main character is the typical “not like the rest” type, the boyfriend is the typical nice good looking guy and the bestfriend is the sassy hot one. The ending really shook me though!
I was so spooked after reading SAY HER NAME that I can’t sleep, so I decided to read something that’s light and 100% can make me laugh. Rick book is the answer and since I have THE HIDDEN ORACLE on my shelf sitting unread, I decided to go for it. And it works! Like Rick’s other books, this one is funny and light. Apollo is as sassy as Percy, but he’s also very narcissistic. Everything is about him. But his journey throughout the book made him realize how he is now a mortal and how to emphatize with humans. We also see the other side of him that actually cares with his children and his past lovers.
There are a lot of PJO/HoO cameos in this book which made it a really comforting read. Camp Half Blood is the same, and yet also different because our usual demigods from PJO/HoO are all grown up now, pursuing college and other things can you hear me sobbing. It also interesting reading how Camp Half-Blood and Camp Jupiter has really good relationship, considering the animosity that existed between them before the Gaea war. Plot wise, nothing really happened. It’s not as action packed or full like Rick’s other books. It’s more light and doing nothing as Apollo tries to remember everything and learn new things. And finally, can we talk about Solangelo? They’re just so cute omg I just can’t.
THE HIDDEN ORACLE is definitely one of my favorite Rick Riordan books ever and I can’t wait to read the next book!
It was supposed to be THE MERCILESS by Danielle Vega, but I didn’t get a chance to read it, and reading MISS PEREGRINE’S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN instead. I can only read it at night because uni was really busy during the day.
I’m so bummed I didn’t like this book! It was one of the very hyped up books for halloween, especially since the movie also came out this month. I mean, it started out really well, and life happened and I had to stop reading. When I came back to it, I noticed many flaws with its characters and it really affects my reading experience. Jacob was too immature, the romance is just meh, and there are some things that I’m questioning about the story. It sucks because I expect to love this one… I would definitely not continuing this series, and watching the movie.
THE BEGINNING WOODS by Malcolm McNeil is another book that dissapoint me. I requested it from Netgalley because the synopsis sounds really interesting and whimsical. And this gives me that. The writing style has the fairytale quality and I think the plot is good. But IT’S SO SLOW OMG. I can take slow books, I mean, I binge-read The Raven Cycle series omg! I don’t know why I just have no patience for this book. I ended up putting this on hold to see whether I still want to finish it or not in a week time.
Ah, DRACULA. The ultimate classic for Halloween. Reading this book really makes me understand why this book is a classic. The way its written conveys the creepy, gothic atmosphere the story is, the emotions of the key characters, and the horror of Dracula. Every fear, sorrow, hatred, suspense… Bram Stoker did an amazing job with this one. I mean, it’s still tedious at times, but hey, it’s a classic. I’ve never felt this connected to characters and read a classic, in its original language, as fast as I read Dracula.
And finally, the graphic novel for NIGHTMARE BEFORE CHRISTMAS is my 6th book for this readathon! Nightmare Before Christmas is a very popular Tim Burton’s movie, and this graphic captures the essence perfectly. It’s vibrant, gothic, fun, dark; In short it is everything you can expect from a Tim Burton movies in other medium.

Did you read anything creepy in October? Or did you join this read-a-thon too? Have you read any of these books? Let me know down below!

On Growing Up and Letting Go
6 thoughts on “Review Anthology: Halloween Read-A-Thon

  1. Puput @ Sparkling Letters says:

    Ahh congratulation on successfully completing the challenges! I failed miserably :’) hahaha horror books + me = doesn’t work out. Ever. I’d rather watch horror movies… with friends, obviously. And certainly NOT in my house πŸ˜›

    I agree with your choice of creepy cover, Say Her Name has an absolutely creepy one and if it were me, I wouldn’t ever pick up this book in the first place hahaha and yay to The Hidden Oracle!! It reminds me of why I love Rick Riordan and Greek Myth. I remember some review on GR said that Apollo is the Gilderoy Lockhart of greek gods and I 100% agreed with her, he’s just so narssistic! Lol. I’ve planned to read Miss Peregrine for a while, especially before the movie came out but I was reluctant because of the mixed reviews and I missed the movie anyway, so I don’t really have the motivation I need to read it haha it’s a bummer you didn’t enjoy it 😦

    Great recaps, Tasya! πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

