What’s On My Shelf: Classic Edition

whats

This year, I want to see how many physical books I own, so I decided to create this series where I listed all the physical books I own, and the story about it. It doesn’t include my parents and sister books. All the books in this list is bought using my (more like my parents) money, unless otherwise stated. I realize how lucky I am to be able to own books at all, and I have no intention of bragging. I hope you’ll enjoy! 🙂

I have a love-hate relationship with classic. On one side, I adore them. There’s certain timeless quality with their stories and writing style that make them worthy the title “classic”. I also love how they transported me to a certain time period. But on the other side, the writing is really hard to me, especially since English isn’t my first language. I have to constantly google what happened in the story so I don’t miss anything. Nevertheless, I still love to collect them.

  1. THE HOUND OF BASKERVILLES by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle {IND}
  2. A STUDY IN SCARLET  by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle {IND}
  3. MEMOIR OF SHERLOCK HOLMES by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle {IND}
  4. THE RETURN OF SHERLOCK HOLMES by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle {IND}
  5. EMMA by Jane Austen {ENG}
  6. WUTHERING HEIGHTS by Emily Bronte {IND}
  7. THE PRINCE AND THE PAUPER by Mark Twain {IND}
  8. TALES OF EDGAR ALLAN POE by Edgar Allan Poe {IND}
  9. A LITTLE PRINCESS by Frances Hodgson Burnett {IND}
  10. THE EXTRAORDINARY ADVENTURES OF ARSENE LUPIN by Maurice LeBlanc {IND}
  11. FRANKENSTEIN by Mary Shelley {ENG]
  12. A ROOM WITH A VIEW by E.M Forster {IND}
  13. PERSUASION by Jane Austen {IND}
  14. ALICE ADVENTURE IN WONDERLAND by Lewis Caroll {IND}
  15. THROUGH THE LOOKING GLASS by Lewis Caroll {IND}
  16. THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA by Gaston Leroux {IND}
  17. ANNE OF GREEN GABLES by L.M Montgomery {IND}
  18. ANNE OF AVONLEA by L.M Montgomery {IND}
  19. ANNE OF THE ISLAND by L.M Montgomery {IND}
  20. ANNE OF WINDY POPLARS by L.M Montgomery {IND}
  21. ANNE’S HOUSE OF DREAM by L.M Montgomery {IND}
  22. ANNE OF INGLESIDE by L.M Montgomery {IND}
  23. ANNE OF RAINBOW VALLEY by L.M Montgomery {IND}

Total: 23 books

2016-10-29 11.48.40 1.jpg

You must be wondering why almost all my classics are in Indonesian. As English is not my first language, I find reading classics in English is really hard to me. This is true for Austen’s books, as well as poems like Paradise Lost and Shakespeare. I forgot which one is my first classic: ANNE OF GREEN GABLES, WUTHERING HEIGHTS or THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA. What I know for sure is I love all of them. I also enjoed the rest of ANNE series, but not as much as the first one. They’re just so opsimistic and remind me of childhood. While I love PERSUASION, EMMA isn’t a favorite of mine. It just doesn’t have a lot of substance and boring in general. Same goes for A ROOM WITH A VIEW. FRANKENSTEIN is just a really easy to read book, and perfect for halloween because it’s very atmospheric. I read SHERLOCK HOLMES because of the bbc sherlock, but ended up loving it and now trying to find the matching edition for my sherlock collection. I have forgotten how I felt for A LITTLE PRINCESS, MIDNIGHT STORIES, and PRINCE AND THE PAUPER, but I do know I LOVED ARSENE LUPIN.

Do you like to read classic? What is your favorite?

On Growing Up and Letting Go

11 thoughts on “What’s On My Shelf: Classic Edition

  1. Emma says:

    I prefer YA over classics personally, but still I do adore some classics, like Daddy Long Legs, The Secret Garden and Black Beauty. I’m planning on reading Of Mice and Men soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

