Sorting My Books Into Their Respective Houses (Top 5 Wednesday #3: Favorite Publishers)

top

Welcome to another edition of Top 5 Wednesday! Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely Samantha and Lainey. You can check the group here for more discussions and topic!

Before reading english books, I tend to read books that have been translated to bahasa. I’m also not at home at the moment because of uni. And honestly, I never pay attention to what publishing house my books are from, so this topic is going to be a hard one. In today’s edition, I’m going to list my overall favorite publishers, regardless language and types, as much as I could remember.

Gramedia

Gramedia is like the biggest publishing house in Indonesia. It has translated a lot of well-loved and well-known series like Harry Potter, Sherlock Holmes, Agatha Christie, Princess Diaries and so much more. It also has a lot of range of classics with gorgoeus cover. It has a lot of imprint and one of those imprints published some of my favorite comics like Detective Conan. So yeah, Gramedia truly dominates my bookshelves.

Atria

Atria was a really well-known middle grade book publishers. In its prime, when I was of age reading middle-grade, it had published some fun series like Ghostgirl, Need, Flood Family, Wimpy Kid, and many more. Unfortunately they kinda have some decline over the past few years that they don’t published as many books as before.

Macmillan

I only recently started buying books in english, so I don’t have many english books, but I have a few from Macmillan. I’ll Give You the Sun, My True Love Gave to Me, The Knife of Never Letting Go, and Fangirl are some books I own from Macmillan publishing.

Disney Hyperion

This one is obviously on the list because of Rick Riordan’s books. I owned almost all of them and they’re always the US edition (except for my MoA), which published by Disney Hyperion. It’s like they have their own corner in my bookshelf.

Simon and Schuster

I’m not exactly sure how many books I own from this publisher, but I know my Lara Jean series is from Simon and Schuster, along with some other books.

Your turn! What are some of your favorite publishers?

On Growing Up and Letting Go

10 thoughts on “Sorting My Books Into Their Respective Houses (Top 5 Wednesday #3: Favorite Publishers)

  1. Puput @ Sparkling Letters says:

    Yes to Gramedia! I still buy books from Gramedia frequently, mostly metropop and chick lit though haha aaaaand I had to take a look at my bookshelves to answer this because I rarely pay attention to publisher. But one publisher that immediately came to my mind was Bloomsbury because a lot of my favorite books are published there. Also yes to Disney Hyperion and Macmillan! ❤

    Like

  2. Geraldine @ Corralling Books says:

    I don’t really keep in touch with publishers at all to be honest! I’ll have to sort some of my books out, categorise them, make note of the publishers, etc. to find out! I’ve always wondered what my top publishers are though…it’s awesome that you know! 😀

    Like

  3. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    Oh my god, I am so out of touch with Indo publishers! I forgot that Atria exists, and Gramedia I’m only really aware of because they have bookstores, haha. It’s been a while since I read anything in Indo, but now that I’m back for a bit, it’ll be super great to take a look at my childhood bookshelves and see what’s there. 😂

    Like

Leave a Reply

