The Thanks U Give: To All the Characters I’ve Ever Loved Before

the-thanks-u-give

In the USA (and other countries that celebrate thanksgiving), this week is the week of Thanksgiving, where families gather together and be thankful for everything. We don’t celebrate thanksgiving in my country, there are a lof of things that my country doesn’t celebrate, but I decided to join in with the fun. After all, saying thank you will never be a bad thing right?

The Thanks U Give is a week-long thanksgiving celebration, where authors and bloggers alike will say they thank yous. This lovely event is host by Mishma {Chasing Faerytales} and Hazel {Stay Bookish}.

harry-potter

Harry James Potter, thank you for showing me that our choice is what matters. You could went bitter like Voldemort after all the mistreatment the Dursley did to you, but you didn’t. You could run and hide, or just give yourself away to Voldemort, yet you didn’t do it. You could left Dudley to the dementors, you didn’t. You could kill Pettigrew on the spot, but again, you didn’t do it. You show me that our choice define who we are, and to “have courage and be kind”.

Hermione Jean Granger, thank you for showing me that you can achieve anything through hard work and to ignore the bullies. For being courageous to stand up to Voldemort and accompanied Harry throughout his journey. For staying true to yoursel, even though so many people bullied you. Ronald Billius Weasley, for being loyal to Harry and being Harry first friend. For staying with Harry through thick and thin. For helping a friend even though it will definitely get you in trouble. For staying loyal to your family, even though people looked down to you guys.

The Weasleys, for accepting all the fighters to your family. You showed me that blood is thicker than water, they will always be your support system, and yet you don’t have to have any blood relations to be part of the family. Sirius Black and Dobby, for showing me what true loyalty is. Remus Lupin, for showing me to choose kindness and believing in your friends. Draco Malfoy and Percy Weasley for showing me that you always can get second chances. To Minerva McGonagall, Molly Weasley, Fleur, and all the strong women that stand up for what they believe, even Bellatrix Lestrange, this one is for you. Thank you for showing me that just because we are women doesn’t mean that we can’t be as good as men. I mean, Voldemort chose Bellatrix as his lieutenant instead of Lucius. For Dumbledore and Snape, for showing me that there’s more than what meets the eye. And for every character in HP, thank you for filling my childhood with magic and adventure.

harry-potter-2

The most important, to Will Herondale and Jem Carstairs. Thank you for showing me friendship that goes deeper beyond death. You guys are the true definition of parabatai. Even when you guys love the same girl, you never let her came between you guys. I love you guys with all my heart. To Magnus Bane, thank you for showing me that it doesn’t matter if people hate you, when those people need you, help them and show them that you’re better than them. To Tessa Gray, thank you for accepting yourself and show that it doesn’t matter who you are, what matters is how you define yourself. To Charlotte and Henry Branwell, thank you for taking care of my babies ❤ Those little shits won’t last a day without you guys.

harry-potter-1

To Lara Jean, for showing me that family is always no #1. There’s nothing deeper than familial bond, no matter how bad you’re fighting, they will always be there to accept you back.

To Shahrzad and Khalid, for showing me that forgiveness can always happen. I mean, killing your best friend and other girls in the kingdom is not exactly forgiveable right? And yet Shahrzad managed to forgive Khalid.

Shoutout to Khalid, Warner, Day, The Darkling, Nikolai and other male fictional characters that doesn’t restrict the female, that allows them to embrace their true power. That let them choose instead of making the choice for them. Some of them are manipulative as heck and just toxic in general, I realize that, but they are giving their partners freedom to choose whether they want to fight or hide.

To Kenji Kishimoto, my sunshine. Not only you always lighten up the mood, you’re also one of the best fighter/strategist I’ve ever read and most loyal friends I know ❤

To Noah Czerny, for staying with the Gangsey till the end, even though the bad energy always messed you up😟 And thank you for doing you-know-what in the end. You will always be remembered.

To all the characters from PJO/HOO series, thank you. This post is already too long so I won’t mention your name one by one, but thank you. You guys always managed to make me laugh and feel all the feels. You guys also show me that just because we have more power, doesn’t mean we are better than the others. In fact, we should use it to help the weak ones.

And finally, to all the PoC characters, disabled, LGBTQ+ or other minorities in fiction, thank you for staying strong and spread awareness to us. Thank you for making us feel that we are not alone, that we can get through whatever life give us because you can. We promise we will make things better here in the real world, hang in there. We promise.

Shoutout to you guys who read till the end😂 You guys are amazing!

On Growing Up and Letting Go

10 thoughts on “The Thanks U Give: To All the Characters I’ve Ever Loved Before

  1. Lais says:

    This was such a beautiful post! Characters can make meaningful changes in our lives. I have to agree with some in your list, especially the PJO characters. Percy Jackson was the series that sparked my interest on reading series and when I first started my fangirl life (hahah) and I’ll never forget about them. Percy is such a phenomenal main character; I’m very thankful for the entire world Rick Riordan created!

    Like

  2. Shouni says:

    This is such a beautiful tribute. I loved what you said about the HP cast and Infernal Devices. The Harry Potter characters are truly an inspiration and I think Harry, for being the main character, is the most underrated of them all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

