Fantastic Pets and Where to Find Them

Fantastic Pets.png
In honor of the release of FANTASTIC BEASTS AND WHERE TO FIND THEM, I decided to write an appreciation post for all my favorite pets in the books.ย The constant and loyal companion of our heroes that’s always there, and yet rarely appreciated. From cuties like cat, to scaries like hellhound, we can’t argue that pets are the loyal companion to our characters during adventures. Today’s post is all about bookish pets, a little appreciation for the little creatures that always there for our heroes through their up and downs, and even save their life. Here we go!

Fawkes

download
Harry Potter has a lot of pets available in its world, and I know a lot of people would choose Hedwig, but my favorite is definitely Fawkes. Fawkes is a phoenix that belongs to Dumbledore. He could live forever, teleporting (in form of flash of fire), lifting heavy objects (harry and co in chambers of secrets) and his tears has a healing quality. He’s also really loyal with Dumbledore. He helps Harry fighting the Basilisk and swallowed a killing curse intended for Dumbledore at battle of department of mysteries. He left after Dumbledore dies.

Mrs. O’leary

3ab1bf50b294504f4ebf71ce9a1bc2ca37523dcb_hq

Um okay, the gif above is not Mrs. O’leary because she won’t hurt a thing. It’s a hellhound from Supernatural. Mrs. O’leary is a hellhound, originally Daedalus’ pet. After his death, he left her at camp half-blood. While she’s huge, like… really huge, she has a heart of a puppy, which is really cute and adorable. She loves to pay fetch with the camp people. Other than that, she she could shadowtravel and had helped Percy so many times during the course of the series. She even fought in the second Titan War.

Arion & Blackjack

tumblr_n8gq7bytkz1rsadwno1_500
That gif is from Clash of the Titans (I almost write Attack on Titan smh), which the main character is also named Perseus. Anyways, technically they are 2 separate pets, but they’re both awesome. Both of them are horses, Blackjack is Percy’s Pegasi and Arion is Hazel’s horse. Arion can travel faster than sound at sea level, run vertical slopes and water. Blackjack is a pegasi, which means he can fly! Both horses are extremely sassy, but Arion especially, according to Percy, has a foul mouth.

Manchee

ed7e3d59122658562db4c0030cb90fe3
Ah Manchee. Manchee is a dog owned by Todd in Knife of Never Letting Go. Manchee is really adorable, we never know what breed he is, but I always imagined him as a corgi. I think Patrick Ness nailed writing about dogs. It’s a shame that Todd treats him horribly at the beginning… (I also cried during that scene)

Church

tumblr_mqelm2vw7l1rqfhi2o1_500
I have a thing for fat grumpy cat (I don’t know if Church is fat, but he’s definitely grumpy). And I always imagine Church as a fat grumpy cat. He’s an immortal cat, originally intended to be a sacrificed before being saved by Jem. He only shows affection for Jem and stays loyal to him. I mean… after almost 200 years, Jem is still the one that is able to pet him without struggle!

Who is your favorite pet?

On Growing Up and Letting Go
12 thoughts on “Fantastic Pets and Where to Find Them

  1. Zoe says:

    OH MY GOSH I LOVE THIS SO MUCH. Blackjack and Mrs. O’Leary are absolutely amazing and I am so glad to see them on your list. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! โค

    Like

  2. Puput @ Sparkling Letters says:

    Wonderful post! ๐Ÿ˜€ I love Fawkes too and Mrs O’Leary! She’s scary and I imagine very huge but also so sweet ๐Ÿ˜› and yes to Church! I love how he’s been around ever since the events on The Infernal Devices until Lady Midnight hahaha and yes my favorite would be Hedwig (like every other people) lol I was so sad when he died </3 Anywayyy, I'm so sorry for following your wordpress now! I thought I would automatically follow you when you switched haha must be the reason why I kept missing your posts :')

    Like

  3. Shouni says:

    Fawkes is great and doesn’t get nearly the credit he deserves. Mrs. O’Leary and Percy are the perfect pair!! Her and Nico too! CHURCH!!! I love the fact that Church pretty much shows up in all the Shadowhunters series.

    There are so many wonderful bookish pets, I don’t think I can pick just one. I would say Crookshanks from the HP series is definitely one of my favorites.

    Like

Leave a Reply

