Top 5 Wednesday #6: Books I Finally Want to Read in 2017

top

Welcome to another edition of Top 5 Wednesday! Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely Samantha and Lainey. You can check the group here for more discussions and topic!

This week topic is about the books I want to finally read in 2017. They can be 2017 releases, or backlist books that I’ve been dying to read. Either way, here are my top 5 books I want to get into in 2017!

THE FELLOWSHIP OF THE RING by J.R Tolkien

I borrowed this book since like… July I think? And I still haven’t even touch it. Tbh the size and the amount of description this book has really intimidates me. I can read thick books, but I can’t read overly descriptive books.

But I also want to know the original story of LOTR and jump into the middle earth bandwagon. Tough choice really.

A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES by Sarah J. Maas

After the emotional meltdown the bookish community had this year, thanks to ACOMAF, I think it’s time for me to start this series and feel the pain. I’m not into NA, so we’ll see how I feel about this book.

CROWN OF MIDNIGHT by Sarah J. Maas

I read THRONE OF GLASS like… last year? So it will be like 2 years ago next year. I really need to continue on this series soon before I forget what’s in the first book because I don’t do re-read. I also super curious about what’s the deal with Rowan.

STRANGE THE DREAMER by Laini Taylor

I really enjoyed DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE by Laini Taylor, and I’m so excited for this one! It was supposed to be released in 2016, but pushed back to 2017 so yeah. Let me give you a quote from the excerpt.

On the second sabbat of Twelfthmoon, in the city of Weep, a girl fell from the sky.

Her skin was blue, her blood was red.

She broke over an iron gate, crimping it on impact, and there she hung, impossibly arched, graceful as a temple dancer swooning on a lover’s arm. One slick finial anchored her in place. Its point, protruding from her sternum, glittered like a brooch. She fluttered briefly as her ghost shook loose, and then her hands relaxed, shedding fistfuls of freshly picked torch ginger buds.

Later, they would say these had been hummingbird hearts and not blossoms at all.

STRANGE THE DREAMER will hit the stores at March 28, 2017.

THE SUMMER OF CHASING MERMAIDS by Sarah Ockler

Sarah Ockler, other that Morgan Matson, seems like have the best summer-y vibe books. I’m super excited for this one! Summer of Chasing Mermaids is a Little Mermaid retellings, and it has diversity in it! The synopses just sounds adorable, and I can’t wait to read this!

On Growing Up and Letting Go

23 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #6: Books I Finally Want to Read in 2017

  1. Cristina @ Girl in the Pages says:

    I cannot recommend Crown of Midnight enough! I was not a huge fan of Throne of Glass and waited like a year to pick up the next book, but I was HOOKED after CoM. It sucked me into the world and engaged me with the characters, which I felt was lacking a bit in the first book.

    Like

  2. Di @ Book Reviews by Di says:

    Ah – what a cool topic and a great way to organise some of your 2017 reads.

    I really want to re-read TLOTR – it’s a daunting one, for sure but Tolkien is such a legend it’s worth it. If you can manage the first book I think you’ll be hooked 😉

    A Court of Thorns and Roses – that series is AMAZING and ACOMAF is still my favourite book of this year. I also love her Throne of Glass series and I hope you love it when you read it.

    I really want to read DoS&B next year – I’ve heard so many good things. Pending that read I’m sure Strange the Dreamer will also be on my TBR.

    Chasing Mermaids just sounds like a cool read as well and you’ve made me super interested in it. 🙂

    Great post!

    Like

  3. Sarah says:

    Anything by Sarah J maas is a Must read! I still need to read the latest in the Throne of glass series, but otherwise I’m really looking forward to Strange the Dreamer. So many great books for next year!

    Like

  4. Maaike D. says:

    Well, I feel like I’m awfully uncreative here, but just in case you didn’t get the message loud and clear already: READ ACOTAR, SO YOU CAN GET ON TO ACOMAF. Imagine how great it would be if you could read ACOWAR right along with everyone else! Also, with lotr – just go for it! There are a million reasons not to start it, but I read it when I was only twelve years old and LOVED it. I was actually thinking about re-reading it. (Because, haha, I DO do re-reads)

    Maaike – All These Lives

    Like

  5. Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight says:

    Ooooh these are good choices! I NEED to read Strange the Dreamer and A Summer of Chasing Mermaids for SURE. I loved Crown of Midnight (my favorite in the series so far, by far) and I liked ACOTAR and must read ACOMAF. Hope you get to read them all, and enjoy them!

    Like

  6. Puput @ Sparkling Letters says:

    I’m super excited for Strange the Dreamer too!! Daughter of Smoke and Bone was very, very good and I fell in love instantly with Laini Taylor’s eloquent writing, I just need more of it in my life ❤ I'm not a big fan of the whole Throne of Glass series but I read all of them and yayyy for Crown of Midnight because it's honestly THE BEST INSTALLMENT of all! Also if you wanna know the deal with Rowan you have to at least read Heir of Fire but spoiler alert I hate him :') ACOTAR was better and I did really enjoy it despite its many flaws 😛 alsooo I;ve been putting off reading The Summer of Chasing Mermaids for SO LONG! I started the first chapter and then backed down, started again and backed down again hahaha but I hope to read it next year too 😀

    Like

    • tasya @ the literary huntress says:

      YES OMG AND HAVE YOU READ THE PREVIEW? I’m 100% sure that book will slay me next year 😂 Yeah I’m truly curious about the Rowan thingy, I think it’s either you love him or hate him… I’ve been eyeing Chasing Mermaids for so long and now that I have it, I figure I should finally read it hehe 😀

      Like

  7. readandseeksa says:

    I know you’ve probably heard this a million times but you NEED to read ACOTAR!! It is slow and there’s a good chance you won’t love it but just get through it for the sake of ACOMAF!! It’s my favourite book – I read it three times already, and still see myself reading it over and over for years to come. It’s that good!

    And then also you should definitely try to finishish Crown of Midnight because that means you’ll be one book closer to Empire of Storms! Your heart is going to be destroyed!

    Nihaad – Read & Seek

    Like

    • tasya @ the literary huntress says:

      Every one seems to be saying to read ACOTAR for the sake of ACOMAF 😂 I heard ACOMAF is really amazing??? I mean everyone is literally freaking out over it. I think I’ll wait right before ACOWAR so I won’t have to wait too long if I want to binge read 😀 Yes omg CoM has been collecting dust for so long , I need to read it.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Anisha says:

    OMG YOU MUST READ A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES! Even if you don’t like it, just read it for the next book A Court Of Mist And Fury which is one of my favourite books! Also I need to read A Summer Of Chasing Mermaids too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

