It All Went Downhill // Top 5 Wednesday #7: Series That Got Worse

top

Welcome to another edition of Top 5 Wednesday!Β Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely Samantha and Lainey. You can check the group here for more discussions and topic!

This week topic is about series that went downhill with each next release. What are the series that started out strong but went downhill as the series goes? This topic is opens for both tv shows and books, so I decided to combined both of them!

Divergent by Veronica Roth

divergent-series-by-veronica-roth

Divergent started out amazingly for me. I read the first book during my Christmas break, and bought Insurgent at the day it was released, which is never happened with me. The main problem isn’t the plot, is Tris as a character. I really idolised her in Divergent, she ventured out of everything she knew, she left all parts of her old life. She train so hard that she doesn’t become factionless, and even though Al tried to kill her, she still feel guilty when he died. But then in Insurgent and Allegiant, she just changed. She lied a lot, manipulated people, and just overall unlikeable. Not to mention Uriah? #neverforget

The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

tmi

I’m still pissed about this one, because if it was a trilogy it would be amazing but it got dragged into 6 book series πŸ˜’ It started out so good, the whole downworlder, nephilip, angel relics and a female heroine who would do anything to save her mother. Then the story become too focused in the romance, Clace become to clingy and destroys life and rules as much as they want… It just becomes too much.

Reign

reign2bheader2b1

Um okay I don’t really know what’s wrong with this one. I really enjoyed the first season, liked the second, and haven’t found the motivation to finish the third season. And now I heard it was cancelled after the fourth season. I guess I’m not the only one that thinks this series went downhill.

Teen Wolf

teen_wolf_intertitle

It actually one of those shows that started out badly. I mean, have you seen the first season? πŸ˜‚ But it gets better with each season… until season 3. You know that finale. Alison died, one of the twins die, Isaac and papa Argent gone… and the seasons got worse.Β It becomes Teen Supernatural, focuses more on Stiles, who is a human, instead of Scott the supposedly True Alpha, aand the romance just isn’t the best. Season 6 is the last one so I think I’ll keep watching, but honestly, I can’t even bring myself to finish season 5.

The Vampire Diaries

vampire-diaries-17-so-you-think-you-re-a-vampire-diaries-fan-can-you-remember-who-said-these-memorable-quotes-jpeg-225020

I also honestly don’t know what happened in this one. I mean… my ship is finally sailing damn it! And it was the way I wanted it to happens. I feel like the plot become too much? The last time I watch, Elena was becoming a vampire, Delena sailing, there’s this Silas thingy… It became convulted and I just don’t like how the show progressed. TVD is also ending after the next season, which is season 8. It’s just sad because I used to watch this show religiously.

On Growing Up and Letting Go

27 thoughts on “It All Went Downhill // Top 5 Wednesday #7: Series That Got Worse

  1. Brooklyn (@bsippingtea) says:

    Yes! I loved Divergent. Loved loved loved. It seemed to be the start of an excellent trilogy and what a shame the other book were nowhere near as good. It was such a disappointment. Also, there was no reason for TMI to be six books long. After the third book everything dragged horribly for me. I also felt the magic of Jace’s character was lost because he became so invested in Clary. I feel like we lost a bit of him.

    Like

  2. Maha @younicornreads says:

    i relate SOOO MUCH on what you said about Teen Wolf and TMI.
    i really LOVED the first three seasons of Teen Wolf. okay, the first one wasn’t the best, but it was still enjoyable…but on season 5 i was just like WHAT THE HECK. it just got worse. some characters weren’t even necessary (like Malia) 😩.
    as for TMI, i agree completely with you. the first three books are so good. there WAS a romance, but it focused more on the plot. but when it got to the last three books, i just…there were so many romances in there i just got confused? and the only romance i liked was Simon and Isabelle… plus i felt like Jace was too perfect (?). i don’t know…
    amazing post!!

    Like

    • tasya @ the literary huntress says:

      The first one is hillarious actually, it’s just sooo awkward πŸ˜€ I also felt like Malia wasn’t necessary, and also Liam’s love interest. Stop killing important characters and adding new ones omg. Bring back Derek and Isaac! Yes the last 3 books were basically the books of ships. It’s just too much…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The Paperback Princess says:

    I still follow TVD. lol. As cheesy as it is, I’m so invested that I need to see how the series will end.
    Agree with Teen Wolf. Although, I stopped watching after the 3rd season. Haven’t read the Divergent series yet. Started the first book for Mortal Instruments and just couldn’t get into it.

    Like

  4. Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight says:

    I have only read the first two series but… YEP. I agree so much. Divergent was so good and I even liked Insurgent but then… what even!? And the TMI series should have been done after book 3- after that I was non stop bored! Sadness about those shows too, guess I should stay away! Great picks, sorry they all went downhill!

    Like

  5. travelingbetweenpages says:

    How could I forget Teen Wolf and TMI? I started out loving them, but was so disappointed afterwards. And when I first started watching Teen Wolf I binge watched two seasons, but after that I just wasn’t feeling it anymore.

    Great post! πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. stephaniesbookreviews says:

    I agree with every single one of these! (Though I never watched past the first season of Teen Wolf, I don’t think I actually even finished the first season.) TMI should have ended after three books. I can’t even talk about Allegiant haha. The Vampire Diaries almost made my list. The last several seasons I haven’t been enjoying at all. I probably would have given up on it if this wasn’t the last season.

    Like

  7. nereyda1003 says:

    OMG, yes to the first 2 and TVD. I gave up on that show around season…4? about 2 seasons too long. I haven’t seen the other shows but I’m glad I never was interested in them.

    I can also tell you that in the new year, Gen and I will be unveiling a whole new look here on Latte Nights in celebration of all the awesome newness that 2017 is bringing! Yay!

    Like

  8. Puput @ Sparkling Letters says:

    It’s good to know that I’m not the only one who hates Allegiant πŸ˜‚ I adored Divergent SO MUCH but then the sequels just didn’t interest me, especially the movies where they split Allegiant into two parts like why even do that?? Also yes to TMI. It was still forgivable if they made it until book 5 but then book 6 happened and I can’t even… though I have to admit I liked Clary better on book 4 and 5, she was just so whiny and naive on book 3 😦 I also stopped watching The Vampire Diaries a long time ago, too much drama for me hahaha

    Like

  9. Jess (beaucoupbooks) says:

    TMI was meant to be a trilogy originally and it’s so painfully obvious reading the third novel that it was supposed to be the last novel! And Allegiant is so bad!! I don’t think I’ve been more disappointed in a novel more than that one πŸ˜› I actually used to watch Teen Wolf and Reign too but I always give up on TV shows… Nice picks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

