Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo // GIF Review because Words Are Not Enough

22299763

Crooked Kingdom

by Leigh Bardugo

Ebook, 448 pages

Published September 27th 2016 by Henry Holt and Co.

✰✰✰✰.5

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets—a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world.

This is a thrilling and satisfying sequel to the #1 New York Times-bestselling Six of Crows.

Book Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

THIS REVIEW DEFINITELY CONTAINS SPOILER. READERS BEWARE.

Starting this book and fell right into a job

giphy

Everytime the real scheme is revealed

giphy1

Kaz Brekker is the most amazing mastermind, his ability to create a scheme and get out from the hardest condition is amazing. GIVE ME YOUR MIND KAZ. That gif also works for the plot, because they’re filled with scheme and heist that just too mindblowing and utterly unpredictable for me.

But then the book felt too long for me

giphy2

As much as I want to get into the characters mind, get to know their story and feelings better, I can’t help to feel that this book can use less inner monologues and flashbacks… It really derails the story from the current action and happenings and made the book feels very long.

THE CAMEOS

giphy3

It’s a pretty heavy foreshadowing, since this book mentioned a lot of the grisha trilogy characters. But really, I can’t help but closing my book a moment to breathe everytime a cameo appeared because MY BABIES. Also, the whole Triumvirate thing? I LOVE IT.

Especially Nikolai Lantsov,

giphy4

My love for Nikolai was pretty overshadowed by my love for The Darkling. But now that The Darkling is not appearing and none of the male in the gang made me fall in love in “OMG I WANT TO KISS YOU” way, I am reminded of my love with Nikolai Lantsov and fell harder than before.

Kaz “you amazing mastermind, cruel human being, but also poor thing” Brekker

source

I’m still not over the fact that Kaz freaking Brekker is only in his teenage years, and yet he is the mastermind behind all the awesomeness we read in this series. I can’t get over the amazingness of his mind.

Or maybe Leigh Bardugo’s mind but whatever.

But Kaz treating the crew like pawn

giphy9

I’m not hating Kaz, how can I? But he is really frustrating in this book, he constantly show indefference to his crew, even slammed poor Wylan once for speaking his mind. I get that we can’t make everyone happy, but it makes him seem like he’s not appreciating his crew enough? The amount of armor he puts and the stress he had… Wow.

The “Wylan”/Jesper Kiss

The actual kiss

giphy7

Wylan Van Eck

giphy8

Colm Fahey

giphy8

Nina Zenik

giphy10

Inej Ghafa

2n1703d

Inej @ Dunyasha

giphy11

But let’s also appreciate Dunyasha because even Inej acknowledge her abilites

200

I don’t think any of the reviews I read ever talk about her?? Like how amazing she is?? She can walk wire and fight like Inej, even better in my opinion. Damn girl.

Matthias @ Nina

giphy12

And no, this is truly how Matthias felt inside whenever he saw Nina.

Jesper and Matthias

giphy14

I feel like they’re overshadowed by other character’s arcs, I adore them, but they don’t really shine in this book. They’re still awesome tho.

When all the ships are sailing

giphy13

When they finally defeat all the bad guys

source1

I really love how they executed the whole thing. It’s just amazing and totally unexpected by me. But then again, this book always surpassed my expectations, so I guess my opinions are invalid.

When a certain death happened

anigif_enhanced-buzz-14438-1370960850-29

Because oh no, not everyone can survive the book. Actually it wasn’t exactly like this, I’m not that deeply shocked because I don’t have enough connections with the character, but I’ve grown to care too deeply for this character in this book to get killed that I can’t help but feeling sad:(

Me @ Leigh Bardugo

20905198

The Ending

source2

I truly can’t ask for a better ending. I feel like it’s bittersweet? But also amazing?? I mean… WOW.

TL;DR

Overall I really liked this book, except for that certain complaint of this book being too long. This book excedeed my expectations in terms of plot, characters developments and how the cameos appeared. The ending tied the story but loosely give space for the characters for our imagination. I’m 100000% sure that we will have another installment in the grishaverse because there are some things that still left unfinished, like the whole Kherguud thing. And those installments will obviously include the grisha triumvirate + Nikolai because hey, it’s grisha-centered and include the dregs bc they would like to help Nina right? They are just my speculations but I really can’t wait for the announcement and turn it into reality!

On Growing Up and Letting Go

11 thoughts on “Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo // GIF Review because Words Are Not Enough

  1. Jillian Lopez says:

    I LOVE THIS REVIEW ❤ definitely made me laugh HAHA. I've always wanted to read the book, but then I never really got the chance (or the money) to. I hope to get my hands on a copy though! 🙂 I loved your reaction, but I'm sort of discouraged by the fact that this book was unnecessarily lengthy and all. Nonetheless, I'll definitely be giving it a try. Looking forward to reading this!

    Amazing review 😀 Oh and MERRY CHRISTMAS ❤

    Like

  2. Madeline says:

    this review is awesome!! I love your gif reactions so much! I agree with you that Crooked Kingdom is a great book even if it is a little lengthy! the ending was so good, but it still made me so sad 😦
    I really do hope that we get more books set in the Grishaverse!

    xoxo, madeline

    Like

  3. Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight says:

    This is fabulous! I agree with your gif reactions wholeheartedly! I actually liked this one much better than Six of Crows- which I felt was definitely too long. This was probably was too, tbh, but in comparison (and since I cared about the characters more) I didn’t mind as much. I was quite sad at the death too- but like you said, I wasn’t totally shocked either. Still, it hurt! Love this post, and I wholeheartedly agree with your assessment- and your hopes for another Grishaverse book 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

