2016: A Year in Review

2016

Here we are, at the end of a year and dawn of another year. 2016 as a year is not a bad year for me, virtually and real life situation. So here it is, my final post in the year of 2016, a yearly rewind of the books I read, things I watch, and all the happenings in my life for the past 365 days.

2016 is not my best reading year. Quantitatively, yes, it’s the most reading I’ve ever done my whole life. Qualitatively? No. There are so many dissapointing books this year and some of them are my most anticipated ones to read! According to my year in books, my average rating this year is 3.3😱 I think I’ve become pickier… I read more contemporary at the first half of 2016 and enjoyed most of them though, so that’s a plus.

1

Number of books read: 88/80 books

7 rereads, 5 DNFs, 19 ARCs

Favorite fantasy: THE WRATH AND THE DAWN by Renee Ahdieh. This book just blew me away with the gorgeous writing, magic, delicious food, and amazing main characters. {my review}

Honorary mention: CROOKED KINGDOM by Leigh Bardugo {my review}

Favorite contemporary: ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES by Jennifer Niven. THIS BOOK IS JUST BEAUTIFUL GUYS. {my review}

Honorary mention: MY HEART AND OTHER BLACK HOLES by Jasmine Warga {my review} and  EVERY LAST WORD by Tamara Ireland Stone {my review}

Favorite historical fiction: THE SONG OF ACHILLES by Madeline Miller. This one is about the Trojan war from the Patroclus pov. It’s absolutely beautiful and heartbreaking. {my review}

Favorite middle grade: THE HIDDEN ORACLE by Rick Riordan. This book is just perfect. Apollo is such a fantastic narrator with his sass and narcissism, but we can also see the other, more fatherly side of the Olympians. Also, Solangelo. {my review}

Favorite classic: DRACULA by Bram Stoker. It’s absolutely creepy, the writing creates such a dark and terrifying atmosphere that is perfect for Halloween. {my review}

Favorite New OTP: Shazi/Khalid

Favorite OTP read this year: Wylan/Jesper

Favorite New Characters: Theodore Finch. I just want to hug him and shield him from the rest of the world.

Favorite Characters: Nikolai Lantsov, the love and light of my life.

Favorite New Crush: Khalid Ibn al-Rashid

Favorite Crush: Khalid Ibn al-Rashid

Favorite world building: Khorasan. It is exactly the setting I would have imagine for Arabian Nights.

Most dissapointing: CARRY ON by Rainbow Rowell. I really like the Simon and Baz part in Fangirl, but Carry On truly dissapoint me. The world building was too similar with HP, Simon is really whiny, and I just can’t connect with the rest of the characters. {my review}

I set myself with some challeges, and also joined some reading challenges. I failed at some, but I mostly completed them so yay! You can see my progress here.

 

3

 

TV Shows watched this year:

SPN season 3-6, Stranger Things, Game of Thrones season 2-6, Empire season 1, Teen Wolf season 5, Mr Robot season 1 (ongoing), Descendants of the Sun, The Abominable Bride, Brooklyn Nine-Nine season 1.

Favorite new show: Stranger Things and obviously, Descendants of the Sun. Still not over Capt. Yoo Shi Jin. (I need to re-watch this show damn it)

giphy17

Favorite ships: Still destiel and johnlock. But also Kang Mo Yeon and Yoo Shi Jin.

Favorite movie: Fantastic Beasts, Moana and Rogue One

Favorite movie scenes: The beach scene in Rogue One (AND THE ENDING), the ghost scene in Moana and everything in FB

Favorite soundtrack: The new Hedwig’s theme in FB

2

As you guys know, this year I graduated high school and entered college. I was really pissed, fed up and tired at that final semester that I keep wishing for time to move faster to the graduation. After the graduation, I can’t stop wishing that I could come back to high school. It wasn’t perfect; I mean I had to woke up at 5 because my school started at 6:30, extra class until 17:00, too many tasks, too many tests, rigid rules, and teachers. But the friends made everything worth it. We always had each other’s back no matter how hard the situation is, and always break the rules together. I will never forget all the detentions and late night escapade we’ve done 🙌

But then, when we lost people, we always gain the new ones. I met some amazing people in the uni and I can’t wait to spend more time with them. It took me a while honestly to find the “click” person, but I finally found them.

While it was a pretty good year for me personally, it’s not a good year for my country. There are too many instabilites and clashes between groups that’s raising the red flags for me. I hope things will cool down soon, for our sake, the current people, for the future generations, and for all the heroes and founding fathers that fight with all their might in uniting our nation.

On a more negative and personal things, this is the year where I have such a close brush with death. I’ve been pretty sheltered from death during my 18 years of existence, I’ve never been allowed to attend a funeral or saw a corpse when I was a kid, and had to take care of my sister when I was older. This year, I lost my childhood friend due to dengue fever, my friends lost some of their parents, and on December 17th, I lost my only grandparents left, my grandmother. When you’ve never had contact with death before and suddenly have to attend a lot of funerals, it was really overwhelming. Especially since you have to take care one of those funerals. It really left me exhausted mentally and emotionally at the end of this year😔

Let me (almost) end this post with list of things I’m thankful for in 2016.

  1. I’m thankful for graduating high school. There were moments when I was doing the exam that I think I won’t graduate because how hard it was but I did. We did. We all did.
  2. I am so thankful that my batch started school together and finish together.
  3. I am thankful for all the friends I met during high school. Good or bad, the memories will stay with me forever.
  4. I am thankful that I got in into a university, studying things that I like.
  5. I am thankful that I had an easy transition and can live alone pretty well.
  6. I am thankful for all the memories I made this year.
  7. I am thankful for all the friends I lost and gain this year.
  8. I am thankful of all the opportunities I had this year.
  9. I am thankful that I finally learned how to drive??
  10. I am thankful for Descendants of the Sun. You ruin my finals but at the same time is my light and love of my life.
  11. I am thankful for all the books I read this year, the amazing ones, the dissapointing ones, and for publishers for trusting me with ARCs.
  12. I am thankful for Fantastic Beasts. All the years I’m waiting for another Wizarding World thingy and this movie doesn’t dissapoint.
  13. I am thankful that I took the chance and move my blog to wordpress. Best decision ever.
  14. I am thankful for all the rains happened this year. YAY.
  15. And finally, I am thankful for all of you guys who still read my blog up until now! Thank you for paying attention to my little corner on the internet❤✨

reading

Now we come to the part where I made some resolutions that may or may not work in 2017. Personally, I want to get my driver’s license in 2017. I’ve been learning and I am still not that good yet, but I do want to get my license next year. I also want to take more risks and take as many chances as I could next year. One of my biggest regrets this year is how lax I was and how I let fear made me say no so some really good opportunities. So there. I want to save more and splurge myself only necessary, not on trivial things like trinkets but big things like travelling or getting myself a camera. I really want to exercise more! Like I made it as a goal this year and it went well during the holidays, but on school months I only do like 1 exercise per month #fail. And finally I just want to be happy. It’s not like I’m not happy, but we’re just constantly worrying about things and people, decisions and past events, and I just want to decrease the overthinking and channel it to other positive things 😊

Reading and blogging wise, I joined the discussion challenge because I want to post more than reviews and tags on my blog more often ✌ I  also plan to read 70 books in 2017, less than 2016 because I just want to take it more slowly. I still want to read classics every month and more diverse books please! 🙌 I also want to be able to dnf books more often instead of forcing to read them until finish, because well, it sucks and always put me on reading slump. Finally, I want to learn more about coding! It’s fascinating but currently I don’t have much spare time so hopefully 2017 will be kinder.

🎆Have an amazing 2017!🎆

On Growing Up and Letting Go

13 thoughts on “2016: A Year in Review

  1. Lais says:

    YES for Descendants of the Sun! It is not my favorite drama EVER, but I still love the characters, especially Seo Dae Young. *heart eyes* Just my type of character!
    I am sorry that you had to deal with funerals this year. I have been to a few funerals, but I’ve never had to deal with it so closely. The idea of losing a loved one is something that scares me a lot, but I hope that I don’t have to think about it for many years to come.
    I hope you have a fantastic 2017 and good luck to achieve all your goals! 🙂

    Like

  2. Geraldine @ Corralling Books says:

    Oh my gosh, it has been such a busy year for you! I’m so sorry about the funerals – they really must have been so difficult. Sending lots of love your way! ❤
    And transitioning from high school to college must have been tough. I thought that my high school was tough, but yours is intense! Glad that it united you with your friends, and probably made friendships for life there!
    I like that you're lowering your GR goal too – too often do we focus on the number of books we read, instead of the quality of them!
    Happy New Year, Tasya!~ ❤

    Like

  3. Puput @ Sparkling Letters says:

    It seems like 2016 has been a great year for you Tasya! Lots of things happened this year 😀 I looooove TWATD & Crooked Kingdom and The Hidden Oracle as well! ❤ ALSO YES TO DOTS! When are we going to buddy watch it?? I am long overdue for my DOTS rewatch hahaha also did you end up enjoying Brooklyn Nine Nine? I love it so much hahaha and W please, you have to add it to your 2017 list 😛

    Anyway, I totally feel you when I started college, I felt like HS was so much better, especially because I lived so far away from home (homesick and all that) buuut I ended up finding the best group of friends in college! The ones I could always talk to about anything /serious or silly/ haha so I hope you find yours soon ❤ also yes to our country I'm honestly fed up with its conflicts and politics I just wanna move somewhere 🙂 and go get that driver's license soon! Life would be easier once you have your license hahaha hope 2017 will be a better year for all of us ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

