December Wrap Up & January TBR

wrap-up

It’s another December/January edition, which is always weird for me to write. It’s not only the beginning and end of a month, but also a year! This post also come out late because I was (and still) really busy with finals😭😭😭

October Wrap Up and November TBR

I can’t say that December was a good reading month… I mean I had 2 DNFs! There are also books that I’ve been wanting to read for so long that turned out to be dissapointing… Let’s hope January will be a better month!

  1. GLITTER by Aprilynne Pike {ARC} // ✰✰✰
  2. CHRISTMAS AT THE OFFICE by Matt Dunn {ARC} // DNF
  3. FAITHFUL by Alice Hoffman {ARC} // ✰✰✰✰
  4. RED RISING by Pierce Brown // DNF
  5. DEATHLESS by Catherynne M Valente // ✰✰✰
  6. CROOKED KINGDOM by Leigh Bardugo // ✰✰✰✰.5

October Wrap Up and November TBR

  1. PHANTOM by Susan Kay
  2. THE STAR TOUCHED QUEEN by Rosani Chokni
  3. HEIDI by Johanna Spyri

I only have 3 books on my tbr this month because I have finals for the first 2 weeks of January (starting tomorrow!!!!) so I don’t think I will be able to read much. I also won’t be able to post much except for T5W.

October Wrap Up and November TBR

The first two weeks of December were very relaxing. It’s the last 2 weeks of the semester so we don’t have much going on, except for the hectic christmas preparation. The chaos started on Dec 18 when my grandma died. I mean, there’s nothing predictable about death, but some of my families really wanted to follow the chinese burial tradition, while the others want to use only the catholic tradition. It was very hectic because we need to mashed those 2 traditions, prepared everything needed, flew back to my grandma’s place, and other stuff. And then unfortunately I have a lot of work that I need to submit for the finals, which I didn’t do because I thought I could do it during the holidays. Well turns out that I can’t and now my life has been really really chaotic working between 3 papers😭😵

October Wrap Up and November TBR

untitled4

Like usual, I started the month by posting last month’s recap. And then I did the Happiness tag, discussion about #ownvoices, and christmas special the 12 days of christmas tag. I also posted review of Song of Achilles, a review anthology, and gif review of Crooked Kingdom. For top 5 wednesday, I talked about books that I want to read in 2017, series that went downhill, and characters I want to invite to my NYE party. And finally, my final post of 2016, I posted a yearly review of my life✨

On Growing Up and Letting Go

20 thoughts on “December Wrap Up & January TBR

  1. ailynk says:

    sorry about the DNF and your grandmother. I had done those burials and they are too much work for dead people (not in a disrespectful kind of way) but seriously I prefer cultures with more simple rites.

    Like

  2. Cassidy Jiang says:

    I’m so sorry about your grandmother, and best wishes to all of your family, I hope you guys figure out the funeral stuff soon. (Also you’re chinese? I’m chinese too! Are you first gen?) I have an arc copy of Glitter from a giveaway, and I’ve been really excited to dive in (mostly cause that damn cover) but I’ve been seeing a lot of so so reviews sadly, so I’m a bit wary. Also Star-touched Queen and Heidi are awesome, I hope you love them both.

    Like

      • Cassidy Jiang says:

        I’m a first generation! What’s it like being third gen? Do you get exposed to a lot of Chinese culture, or is it mostly Western culture? (Haha sorry I’m super curious.)

        I love being a first generation, I know basic chinese as a result, and I love the fact that me and my parents can converse in two languages (though I do suck at chinese sadly).

        However, a major downside, is the fact that the majority of my family is on the other side of the world… Sometimes I wonder what life will be like for my children, and how they will be connected to their chinese heritage, also, how it was like for my parents to raise me in a foreign culture.

        Being a first gen gives me a unique upbringing and home life from my peers, and I remember loathing that sometimes as a child, but as I’ve gotten older I’ve begun to love that part of me. (Oops, didn’t mean to get so autobiographical on you, it’s just the town I moved to last year is well, not the most diverse, so sometimes I feel a bit isolated in my experiences, and have been dying to discuss these things)

        Like

      • tasya @ the literary huntress says:

        It’s fine haha! 😀 So I’m third generation, but I don’t live in the west. I still live in Asia, in Indonesia to be exact, so yeah I got exposed more to Indonesian culture. I can speak basic chinese, use it in basic conversation, and understand a bit of hokkien, but I can never fully converse in hokkien. My mother is second generation, so does my father, but in my country, there’s this anti-chinese sentiment, making it harder (and scarier) for us to blend! (see here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_massacres_in_Indonesia) Even as a third gen who understand Indonesian and Indonesian traditional language more then my chinese part, I get the discrimination because I still have the small eyes! The major downside, other than the scary enviroment and constant fights (you can search for the recent event involving our first chinese governor ahok), is how hard for us chinese indonesians to enter the government! I do love being both chinese and Indonesian, as you do. Being exposed and grow into both culture gives us a really unique experience and insight that no other person can experience 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Jane the Raincity Librarian says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your grandma 😢 My grandmother is almost 100, but she has a very clearly planned funeral plan and has paid for everything in advance, which means no stress for us! She’s always been a very in-control woman, and doesn’t plan on letting anything, even death, get in the way of her plans! 😉

    Like

  4. Rachana says:

    So sorry to hear about your grandma’s death. I hope finals aren’t *too* stressful this month – you definitely deserve a break! Also, The Star Touched Queen is amazing btw so I hope you really enjoy reading that too 😀 Good luck with everything!

    Rachana @ Spun

    Like

  5. Jillian Lopez says:

    Omg condolences on your grandmother. I hope you and your family are okay! Please take good care of yourself and treat yourself with lots of books and food because you deserve it. I definitely understand all the stress of writing those finals and papers (heck, I slept at 4:30 am finishing 5 papers in one night haha).

    I’ve always wanted to read Crooked Kingdom! Glad you liked it 🙂 Here’s to a new and better year. I wish you luck this 2017, Tasya. Stay awesome as you always are!

    Jillian @ ,a href=http://jilliansbooks.blogspot.com> Jillian’s Books

    Like

Leave a Reply

