Ruler of Books Tag

ruler-of-books

Hi everyone, today’s post is going to be a book tag. I’ve been tagged by Cloe @ Mornings and Epilogues in August (OOPS), so thank you and sorry Cloe! Life has been really busy and I just keep putting off writing this post for some reasons. Anyways, let’s just get started!

What book would you make everyone read?

It will always will and always be The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare. Hands down the best trilogy I’ve ever read. Buuuut I guess you guys are tired with me mentioning this book every chance I got, so I’m going to answer with THE BOOK THIEF and TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD. The Book Thief set during WW2, and TKAM set during 1936 in USA, where discrimination against black people were crazy.Β Both books are narrated by children, and I just love how pure their point of view is. They are children, and they did not question whether the people they are helping is Jews or Black, all Liesl and Scout knows is it’s human, and they need to help.

Bonus points in TKAM, in which Scout is the only one who’s even being decent with Boo Radley.

Those are the books you need to read. Those are the books I encouraged you to read. Reading from children really made me realize that hate is teached, not felt.

What would you abolish from book construction?

The alpha male trope. You know, the brooding male hero, that stalks the main interests, that growl or kiss roughly, that make the decision for the female love interest, and sometimes also abusive. I’m sorry, but heroines can make their decision without the male hero saving the day.

What author would you commission to write every book ever? OR what author would you commission to write a book for you?

I would definitely ask Leigh Bardugo and Laini Taylor, with extra from Rick Riordan. Leigh Bardugo’s world building is very vivid and complex, while Laini Taylor’s prose is amazingggg. Rick Riordan creates amazing sassy characters while incorporating a lot of mythology in it. Despite their different writing styles, combined together I think they’ll create AMAZING books.

What book would you demote to the library basement to make room for new books?

Probably RED RISING by Pierce Brown. I REALLY WANTED TO READ THIS BOOK. But it was very confusing, with all the tech-from-the-future and social class constantly mentioned but nothing explained. I am the type of person that need to understand and be immersed in the world building before building connections with the characters. No world building = no bonding = bye bye book.

What cover artist would you commission to paint a beautiful mural?

Oh man, there are so many beautiful covers out there from a lot of cover artists. BUTTTT my current favorite cover artist are definitely people who made Strange the Dreamer cover. Both the UK and the US cover is GORGEOUS.

What character’s face would you put on a coin?

Reyna. I think the tradition of “putting a face on a coin” started by the Roman Empire, and Reyna is from Camp Jupiter. She’s a strong leader and praetor, and also very skillful at battle, so she’s really fitting for a coin.

What book would you give the Ruler of Books award of 2016?

I would say THE WRATH AND THE DAWN by Renee Ahdieh which is, hands down my favorite book I read this year. It’s just p e r f e c t. The atmosphere, the world building, the FOOD, the characters, I just adore everything!

I tag:

Cait @ Paper Fury

Puput @ Sparkling Letters

Izel @ A Bookish Flower

On Growing Up and Letting Go

Posted in: tag

15 thoughts on “Ruler of Books Tag

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    AHH THANKS FOR TAGGING ME. I seriously need to do this because ruler of books?!? My kind of tag. πŸ˜‚ And YES let’s abolish those brooding heroes and also those Laini Taylor covers are so shiiiny and gorgeous. And I’d make everyone read Maggie Stiefvater books. I’m probably not surprising anyone there.πŸ˜‚

    Like

  2. Puput @ Sparkling Letters says:

    What a fun tag, Tasya! πŸ˜€ I love The Infernal Devices too hahaha probably not my fave of ever, but still πŸ˜› I agree that the alpha male trope should just retire yesterday, along with the ‘you’re not like other girls’ trope hahaha also yes to Leigh + Laini books, what a beautiful one it must be hahaha I love TWATD so much too! I can’t wait for Renee Ahdieh’s new book to come out. Thank you for tagging me ❀

    Like

  3. Molly's Book Nook says:

    YES. Leigh Bardugo should just write everything hahahah I LOVE her books πŸ˜€ I haven’t read Wrath & the Dawn yet, I really need to get on that >.< Also, I'm sad you thought Red Rising was confusing because I still want to read that and that makes me nervous! eep.

    Molly @ Molly’s Book Nook

    Like

  4. Anisha @ Sprinkled Pages says:

    OMG I HATE THE ALPHA MALE TROPE SO MUCH! *looks at SJM* I would totally abolish this as well and awesome responses to the rest of the questions! I would say I’m going to do this tag now but I did it last year haha! However, it would be nice to do an updated tag…hmmm…some food for thought! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

