A Peek Into My Bullet Journal + How I Use It

bujo

Bullet journal is one of the biggest trend in 2016 (or was it 2015?). So many people are using it and showcasing their bullet journal, especially on studyblr and pinterest. According to the official website,

The Bullet Journal is a customizable and forgiving organization system. It can be your to-do list, sketchbook, notebook, and diary, but most likely, it will be all of the above. It will teach you to do more with less.

At first, I was reluctant to follow the trend. I mean, to do more with less sounds good to me, but all the bujo I saw on studyblr and pinterest don’t seem less to me, in fact they seem… more? It must have take more effort and time to create those pretty journals! But I’m in dire need of an agenda or to-do list to start uni, so during Ikea sale, I bought some empty books and in August, I finally started my bujo journey!

Processed with VSCO

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

During my first 5 months, I decided to create the layout in advance so it won’t be bothersome. I also decided to use different languages for the dates, so at least I could learn something from my bujo. Now I can mention the name of days in Spanish fluently! The first 2 pictures in the slideshow are my old layout, the new last one is the new one.

Processed with VSCO

I also create a tracker and gratitude pages at the end of each month, as well as some blank pages for things I just want to write down. I switch up some of the trackers each month, but some of them has been a permanent resident, like cleaning my place and eating fruit.

How do I use it

Processed with VSCO

The first page of my bullet journal is for key and yearly calendar. I started this on August, so I figure I just write the calendar until December in case I run out of paper or something. As for the key… they help making the journal easier to understand. By looking on the symbol only, I know what I have for the day, whether it’s event, homework, or just random task like cleaning up.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

At the beginning of every month, I have a monthly overview page. It has calendar, goals, and motivational quotes to motivate me through the month. If I’m feeling artsy, I will add doodle or picture, but most of the time… that’s it. Again, the format has changed since the first time I use it. I create a simpler one, with many spaces for pictures, doodles, goals, or anything, compared to the old one that only has calendar.

Daily, I just write my daily to do list the night before or early morning when I just wake up. It’s a really cathartic for me, sorting through the buzzing of ‘YOU NEED TO DO THIS TODAY” and actually know what you have to do.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

At the end of the month, I have some spaces for gratitude journal, tracker, quotes, notes.. basically random stuff. Sometimes they’re unused, but most of the times they are pretty full.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For the transition of December 2016 to January 2017, I created some random lists and overviews, and things to do/watch/hear in 2017. You know, the usuall stuff.

And that’s it! Yes I know my photography skills are nonexistent, but I hope amidst the blurry pictures and instant process of VSCO, you got the idea of how my journal look and how it does its work. It’s not pretty, artsy, colorful, etc etc, but it does its job and made my life so much easier!

Your turn: Do you use bullet journal? How do you use it?

tasya

25 thoughts on “A Peek Into My Bullet Journal + How I Use It

  1. Denise says:

    Your bullet journal is so cute! I always thought that a bullet journal is too much effort so I haven’t been bothered to create mine, but this has really inspired me to make one! You seem so organised, and I love your use of headers. Does it take you long to make your spreads? I don’t have much time so I don’t know if it would be an efficient use of my time…

    Denise | Riot Grrrl Reads

    Like

  2. Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks says:

    AH, this is so cute and functional – I’ve been looking at other people’s bullet journals and fawning over them, but I’m so intimidated by the prospect of making my own, lol. I bet it’s extremely therapeutic once you get into the flow of things and also really helpful. 🙂

    Like

  3. mypaperinfinity says:

    Oh, wow, your bullet journal looks absolutely wonderful. I’ve tried it a couple of times too but decided it’s just not for me. I’m not artistic at all and I’m the kind of person that if I can’t do it like I pictured it I’m not going to do it haha 🙂

    Like

  4. Michelle @ FaerieFits says:

    I’ve just started doing this recently. So far I’ve been really getting a lot out of it! Because mini-goals are great! I like the idea of the tracker; I might try something similar! I mostly just use it for the day-planner part, and I use different colors for different topics (exercise=orange, blog=green, writing=blue, other=purple).

    Like

    • tasya @ the literary huntress says:

      Thank you! Just try and give it a go! If it works then it’s good, if it doesn’t, you’ll know why it doesn’t work and can change it up a bit 🙂 It’s what I did, I didn’t think the first system works, that’s why in January I changed my system 🙂

      Like

  5. Jordyn @ Jordz the Bibliophile says:

    This is so cute! I’ve tried bullet journaling a few times, and it worked for a while, but it honestly took me so long to create calendars, trackers, things like that. I really like yours (it’s absolutely gorgeous), but how do you find the time to do it?

    Like

    • tasya @ the literary huntress says:

      Thank you! I always made them in advance, like for the Aug-Dec part, I made everything in August😂 But after that, I always made everything a month in advance. Like for the March one, I’ll try to make it in the second half of February. I know some people said bujo is flexible because you can made it daily, but it’s too complicated, not to mention time consuming. If you just make the whole layout a month in advance (it only take less than an hour if you do a simple one like me), then you’re good to go 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

