Book Aesthetics // 2016 Favorites

Can you believe we are at the end of March now? Because I can’t. 2016 has come and go, I think it’s a pretty mediocre reading year. There are so many dissapointing books, most of them are because of the hype, but there are some good surprises too. Even though I already posted my yearly wrap-up, I decided to pay a tribute for my 2016 faves by creating some aesthetics for them. I’m not exactly imaginative and visual person, so this aesthetics have 99% chance of being sucks, but this is how I see and imagine the books in my head, so enjoy!

The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

twatd

There’s no 2016 favorites list will be perfect without me mentioning this book. I just love love love this book, and until now this book remains my favorite series starter ever.

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

tsoa

I know some people saw it as problematic, which I will have a separate discussion post about, so we will not go there. I really love the author’s take on Achilles and Patroclus relationship, which has been a debate for thousand of years. I also love how it used Patroclus point of view instead of Achilles, it’s refreshing to see the war and Achilles himself not as the great demigod hero, but as a lover and friend.

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

I don’t know why, but I feel like this image really represent the book. Ghost/memory Finch and Violet remembering him. Also, that quotes is really my favorite and the one that made me cry in the book. What I love about this book is how it doesn’t have the “love cures mental illness” trope. It might seem that way for Violet, but it doesn’t for Finch. In the end, Finch save Violet but couldn’t safe himself. Even when he’s with Violet, he’s not always happy and still had his ups and downs.

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

crooked kingdom

The amazing series ender. It’s still feel slow at parts, but overall I love it more than Six of Crows. We know more about the Dregs, not only Kaz and Inej, but also Wylan and Jesper. Also, Grisha cameo!!

Dracula by Bram Stoker

dracula
My favorite classic of 2016! It’s dark and gothic, and the atmosphere is really suspenseful and creepy. Definitely a classic perfect for halloween, and I can see why it’s considered a classic!

tasya

15 thoughts on “Book Aesthetics // 2016 Favorites

  1. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    Soooo beautiful! I’ve only read The Wrath and the Dawn out of all these books but my fave aesthetics here would be Crooked Kingdom’s (#ringgoals, btw). I really have to start reading that series. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

