Work Work Work // April Wrap Up and May TBR

wrap-up

I’m so happy with how April turned out! I was so productive in April, both academically and reading wise. I also made some important decisions this month, and honestly, it’s so liberating to take some things off my mind.

October Wrap Up and November TBR
So this month I participated in A Very ARCish Readathon hosted by Aimal @ Bookshelves and Paperbacks. The goal is to read as many ARCs as I could to increase the ratio, and I think I did pretty well this month!🙌🙌🙌

  1. THE INCONCEIVABLE LIFE OF QUINN by Marianna Baer {ARC} // ✰✰✰
  2. ULTIMATUM by K.M Waltson {ARC} // ✰✰✰
  3. MORTAL SWORD by Megan Crewe {ARC} // ✰✰✰
  4. STITCHES by Mariah McCourt {ARC} // ✰✰✰✰
  5. BREAKING IS HARD TO DO… BUT YOU COULD’VE DONE BETTER by Hilary Campbell {ARC} // ✰✰✰✰
  6. ALEX, APPROXIMATELY by Jenn Bennett // ✰✰✰✰
  7. HERAKLES by Menelaos Stephanides // ✰✰✰✰
  8. 101 THINGS YOUNG ADULT SHOULD KNOW by John Hawkins  {ARC} // ✰✰✰
  9. GEEKERELLA by Ashley Poston {ARC} // ✰✰✰
  10. PHANTOM by Susan Kay // ✰✰✰✰✰

October Wrap Up and November TBR

I think the amount of books I read last month put me back in a slump… Hopefully not, but since May means finals for me, I don’t want to push myself to read too much and ended up in terrible slump that made me not even wanted to revise my uni materials (yes it happened before). So this is my definite TBR:

  1. THE GIRL FROM THE WELL by Rin Chupeco (This one is definitely a priority, I just want to read something non-arc you know)
  2. DUELS & DECEPTIONS by Cindy Anstey
  3. THE HIDEOUT by Egon Hostovski (A Czech literature! I never read anything from the country, so I’m curious. Also, it’s pretty short and set during WW2. Seems like my cup of tea)

Unfortunately, I have tons of book on my tbr, mostly review books, which coincidentally, are all released in May. I don’t know which one I will read first, but here are some of the choices:

  1. NOTEWORTHY by Riley Redgate (I was excited for this one, but the hype become too much that I’m scared to read it now)
  2. WINDFALL by Jennifer E. Smith (I wasn’t exactly fond when I read one of her books, but I’m giving her another chance here)
  3. THE GO-BETWEEN by Veronica Chambers (As much as “perfect for the fans of Jane the Virgin” phrase excites me, I just can’t read now)
  4. FLAME IN THE MIST by Renee Ahdieh (CAN YOU GUYS ACTUALLY BELIEVE I GOT APPROVED FOR THIS LIKE DAMN THIS IS MY HIGHEST BLOGGING ACHIEVEMENT)

October Wrap Up and November TBR

October Wrap Up and November TBR

The mid-term grade is out! It took much much longer than anyone anticipated, but it’s finally here! It’s better than what I expected, even I was shocked. Not that I’m bragging, but I feel like I failed half of the test you know? Anyway, with April ending and May starting, it means me preparing for another battle: finals.

giphy

me @ myself

Also, there has been a lot of national holidays! On the 14th, we had Good Friday. On the 19th, governor re-election in Jakarta. On the 24th, Isra Mi’raj. Today, the 1st of May? Labor’s day! It’s fun to lazing around all day, but it also comes with consequences of messy replacement schedule. Not to mention, I mad a mistake of joining too many comitee. I got sick a lot this month, which is not fun. Here’s to a better and more sensible May!

By the way, on the 28th, I went to some sort of imported book sale. English books here are expensive, so I was really happy when Big Bad Wolf (the book sale) came. I went there last year and I bought 2 books: Seed and Promise of Shadows (which I still haven’t read). When I went last Thursday, I was shocked. The venue was much bigger than last year. Much much bigger. It also has different layout and I kinda have a mini internal meltdown because THERE ARE SO MANY PLACES TO BROWSE AND NOT ENOUGH TIME. I picked like a trolley of books, before finally decided to buy 5 books:

Some of the books I had to gave up were: These Vicious Masks, Three Little Words, Max, Lorali, The Lumieres, and many more. I was sad, but the thing is I didn’t brought a lot of cash, and the event didn’t accept my card company. So yeah, there goes more book on my TBR and I shall not buy another book for 2 months.

Maybe.

untitled4

Well well well. A productive reading and blogging. How amazing. I posted 4 reviews this month: The Inconceivable Life of QuinnUltimatumA Mortal SongDone Dirt Cheap and Summer Skin. I was tagged by Erika to do the Hogwarts Story Tag, so I also posted that. I posted my regular screen rambles, feature of how my dream reading nook will look like, and similar covers. Hopefully May will be another productive blogging month, I’ve scheduled some post so that shouldn’t be a problem! Also: I scheduled 2 discussions for next month, 1 is for later in May, and it’s a bit controversial. Is there anyone willing to proof read it and give me some input? I’m really curious about your answers regarding the topic, but I’m scared to post it! If you’re willing to proofread it, please contact me! 🙂

How was your April? Do you have anything you want to accomplish in May?

tasya

18 thoughts on “Work Work Work // April Wrap Up and May TBR

  1. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    Looks like you had a productive April, Tasya! That was a lot of books that you finished (definitely more than me, HAHA) and seems like most of them were at least pretty good. 😛

    I have to say, I’m surprised by how many long weekends/public holidays we had in April! I’m LOVING it tbh… but in saying that it seems like we’re over the hill now and there’ll be less and less, which is kind of sad. But oh well, there’s work to do…

    I could definitely recommend Noteworthy and I hope you enjoy Flame in the Mist! I’m currently reading that one. 😉

    Like

    • tasya @ the literary huntress says:

      Thanks Reg! Yeah, it’s sad to see how little national holiday left we have for the rest of the year… I want my “red numbers” xD I can’t wait to read Noteworthy and Flame in the Mist, I wish it won’t dissapoint me because my expectations are very high haha!

      Like

  2. kozbisa says:

    Isn’t it exciting when you get approved for a book you really, really want! I loved Duels, and will definitely be reading more Anstey. I would kill to have gotten Windfall. I love JES to pieces.
    Sam @ WLABB

    Like

  3. Tiffany @ The Bookish Thought says:

    Hiii fellow Indonesian blogger! Sounds like you have a great reading month! I’m planning to read Alex, Approximately too last month but sadly, that didn’t happen. Hopefully I could read it this month. Also BBW seems REALLY improved compared to last year! There’s a lot of books that’s on my wish list (yes, i’m obsessively stalking it), and I hope it come again to Surabaya like last year. Anyway, good luck for your finals ❤

    Like

    • tasya @ the literary huntress says:

      HIIII IM SO EXCITEDD! It’s very rare to meet fellow indo bloggers haha! I hope you’ll read it this month, and yes, it’s so much better! It’s so HUGE though I’m not sure I’ve seen all the books already 😀 If it comes to Surabaya, I wish it will be held around June-August, since I will be in Surabaya at that time haha!

      Like

Leave a Reply

