Top 5 Wednesday #15: Under the Sun Reads

top

Hi everyone, welcome to another edition of Top 5 Wednesday! Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely Samantha and Lainey. You can check the group here for more discussions and topic!

For this week t5w, the theme is summer reads. Summer is almost here for people who lives in the northern hemisphere but it’s always sunny here in Philadelphia Indonesia, so technically I can read summer-y books all year run. But I think it’s fun how you guys always created seasonal tbr, so I definitely want to join in the fun! I have 10 books for today’s topic, books I’ve read and books on my tbr. Without further ado, let’s jump right it!

Read and Loved

summer read recoomendations

  • ALEX, APPROXIMATELY by Jenn Bennett // Online romance, love hate relationship, surfer boys, beach towns and quirky banter.
  • LORALI by Laura Dockrill // shy and curious mermaid vs narcissistic diva mermaid, sleepy beach town, adorable pirate brothers.
  • A THOUSAND SALT KISSES by Josie Demuth // merman! lovesick teenage girl, but SUPER strong summer vibe.
  • OF POSEIDON & OF TRITON by Anna Banks // Again, merman. But the romance is better here, and we’ll forget that horrible 3rd book ever exist
  • SECOND CHANCE SUMMER by Morgan Matson // One last summer together in childhood place because MC’s father is dying, second chance best-friend to couple romance, me crying like a baby

Gathering Dust and Ready for the Sun

summer tbr

  • THE SUMMER OF CHASING MERMAIDS by Sarah Ockler // little mermaid retelling, been on my tbr for so long.
  • COMPULSION by Martina Boone // gothic southern plantation romance, also been on my tbr for so long
  • AURABEL by Laura Dockrill // “continuation of Lorali” *me running to the bookstore*
  • BOYS OF SUMMER by Jessica Brody // gang of boys summer, with a “bro-code” being broken.
  • ONE ITALIAN SUMMER by Kerris Stainton // second chance romance, family trip in Italy, and apparently, gelato

tasya

27 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #15: Under the Sun Reads

  1. Bec (@booktineus) says:

    The only book I’ve read here is Lorali and it was a nice little read! Definitely great for summer. All the others are ones I want to check out eventually (when it starts getting warmer down in Aus again haha)

    Like

  2. Lois says:

    Alex, Approximately and Second Chance Summer are two books I plan on devouring this summer. I’ve been wanting to read both books for a while now and since I own both of them I have no reason not to haha.

    Like

  3. Jared @dabook.club says:

    I have to admit I’m not big on the “summer romance reads”. If it were me, I’d prefer a fantasy. This summer, however, I want to break out of the shell and are planning to read a few “summer romance books” that I’m HOPING will open the genre for me. Good post, have a nice day.
    -Jared

    Like

  4. kozbisa says:

    I also read and loved: Alex, Of Poseidon, and Second Chance Summer (so many tears!), but I also loved The Summer of Chasing Mermaids (my Ockler gateway book) and Compulsion.

    Sam @ WLABB

    Like

  5. Marie says:

    I loved Second Chance Summer so much and cried like a baby as well ahah you’re definitely not alone 🙂
    I hope you’ll be able to read The Summer of Chasing Mermaids soon, it’s one of my favorite books 🙂

    Like

  6. Jackie @ toomuchofabooknerd says:

    Ahhh, I’ve been so obsessed with books about mermaids lately so I’ll DEFINITELY check some of these out! *heart eyes*

    I also have One Italian Summer on my TBR and I can’t wait to read it! It sounds like it’s just my cup of tea 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

