Unpopular Opinion Alert! Geekerella by Ashley Poston

33224718

Geekerella

by Ashley Poston

Kindle edition, 320 pages

Published April 4th 2017 by Quirk Books

✰✰

Cinderella goes to the con in this fandom-fueled twist on the classic fairy tale.

Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom. Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.

9a6c5-goodreads

I received this book in exchange for honest review from Netgalley.

I was so excited to read this one! All the 5 stars reviews I see on my dashboard every single day, all the praises and quotes about this book… I guess the hype just got me for this one, increasing my expectations to the roof, to the point of no return. I bet you guys know the gist of Cinderella, so I’ll just go straight to the review.

I really like the twist the author used in the book, using the central and familiar element in the cinderella story to the contemporary and new, yet still familiar for us to draw the line. For example, the magic pumpkin carriage? The pumpkin food truck. The fairy godmother? Sage wears a lot of tutu. And so on. I really like seeing the modern setting and fairytale elements merge together in this book.

Another thing I like is the side characters. I’d love to know more about Sage, Cal, and Lonny (Is it really his real name? Or is it a code-name??). They seem to be interesting you know? Also, even though this is minor points and not much related to the main plot, I really like the lesbian couple here! Totally unpredictable, which is why I need more details about them. Will they work out? How would they overcome the obstacle? And despite everything, whether in original Cinderella and the retellings, I always wanted to know why the step-family hated her that much.

Despite my positive points above, the negative overwhelms the positive. I couldn’t connect to the characters, nor get into the story for the first 48%. That’s a long time to finally get into a story. This book seemed to rely heavily on the romance and characters (since the plot is a retelling), but failed to deliver both.

The characters are very underdeveloped. Even the side characters, no matter how interesting, they are still underdeveloped. Everyone is like the cardboard cut-out or caricatures from the original story. The step-family are just evil. Sage is just a helpful friend. Darien is this star trapped in his life. And Elle is just a nice girl trapped with horrendous family. The least the author could do is add another depth to the characters. And I mean beside Starfield. Who are Elle and Darien outside of the role the retellings assigned to them and beside their love of Starfield? What is Catherine background that she hated Elle so much? The characters are just there to serve their roles without any depth.

I can’t feel the romance or the pull between Elle and Darien. While I believe you can fall in love through messages, the only thing they talked about are Starfield. They don’t talk about them, or their lives, or their other interest. How can you fall in love with someone only because they are in the same fandom with you? Having the same fandom is only a part of who they are, they are more than the fandom. I need more time and development for this romance to become believeable for me.

While I love the fandom references throughout the book, ultimately Starfield is the core of the book. And while I love being included and being part of the fandom culture in the book, sometimes it become too much. Like I said, there’s nothing more to the characters and romance beside Starfield. It just doesn’t feel real to me.

GEEKERELLA is a unique retelling of Cinderella, with imaginative twist on the familiar elements. But it fails to deliver on the other aspect for me: underdeveloped characters and romance and too wrapped up in Starfield to feel real for me. While ending the book on a good note (I love what happened to Chloe in the end), ultimately the time I spent struggling to get into the story take away my enjoyment of the book.

tasya

15 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinion Alert! Geekerella by Ashley Poston

  1. Marie says:

    GReat review! Like you, I only read positive reviews of this book and it’s nice to see something different for once. I’m sorry to hear it wasn’t too much of a hit for you and that you couldn’t connect to the characters right away – so annoying when that happens :/

    Like

  2. Anisha @ Sprinkled Pages says:

    Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy this Tasya! I am going to be reading it soon and I do hope I end up enjoying it after having heard such positive things from others and the added bonus of the diversity! Thanks so much for your honesty!

    Like

  3. Madalyn @ Novel Ink says:

    I agree with you on this one; it definitely didn’t live up to the hype for me. I enjoyed how the retelling was done, like you said, but the story and the characters were underdeveloped. Great review, Tasya!

    Like

  4. Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog says:

    I won this won in a giveaway and am excited for it. Still I love to see the unpopular opinion type review because I thin it helps lower my expectations a bit. There really were all 5 star reviews for this one!! Sorry you didn’t love it more!

    Like

  5. angel says:

    I recently purchased this book after reading someone’s summer reads and everyone else seemed to adore this book. I can’t wait to read this book, even more so after reading your review.

    Like

Leave a Reply

