Top 5 Wednesday #16: Minor Characters that Stole My Heart

top

Welcome to another edition of Top 5 Wednesday! Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely Samantha and Lainey. You can check the group here for more discussions and topic!

This week topic is favorite minor characters. Now the characters I’m going to mentioned are not exactly minor character, but they aren’t main character either. They are secondary and while their story is pretty fleshed out, I want more! Without further ado, let’s see who they are.

giphy10

Kenji Kishimoto

Ahh Kenji, my sunshine in Shatter Me series. If it wasn’t for him, I know I won’t continue with this series and finish it. You guys can fights Warner or Adam all you want, I’ll take Kenji happily. He’s an amazing friend, brother and leader to all. He keep everyone safe and happy, can fight and be serious when needed to be. He started the pattern of “funny guys with terrible past” rather than “bad boys with terrible past” for me, a theme that applies for all 5 guys I mentioned in this post.

Nikolai Lantsov

Oh Nikolai, I bet a lot of people would DNF Siege and Storm if it wasn’t for you. His presence was such a breath of relief from the angst romance between Mal and Alina and the hopelessness of their situation against the Darkling. Nikolai has amazing sense of humor and swagger, but also an amazing leader that intuitive and truly cares of Ravka. He’s not exactly good at diplomacy without irritating his opponents, but he’s one of the most charming prince I’ve ever read about *swoons*

Remus Lupin

He might be portrayed as the most mature and wisest of the Marauders, but remember that’s he’s also often the mastermind of their pranks and I believe he ~sometimes~ use his power as prefect to prank people. Remus Lupin has be biggest, bravest heart I’ve ever read about. He’s compassionate with other people, care about his friends, and the best Defense teacher Hogwarts Harry-era ever had. He truly deserved better.

Sirius Black

No, this is not a wolfstar post. While Remus has the biggest heart, Sirius has the biggest loyalty. Not that I meant Remus is not loyal, but Sirius loyalty is unquestionable. Whether it’s to James, the Order, or Harry. He spent 12 years in Azkaban, and when he’s free, he jumped right back into action to defeat Voldy and protect Harry. Truly a Gryffindor.

Magnus Bane

One of my favorite characters of all time: Magnus Bane! Where do I begin? He’s half Indonesian (YAY! even though I wish he told more about his life in Indonesia), he’s fabulous, throw amazing parties, and Malec gave me life. He might say that he do not concern himself with Shadowhunters business, but oh look where he is now. In too deep. His sense of humor, and sometimes, his narcissism produce a really entertaining scenes, and his relationships with the shadowhunters are very heart warming. Can’t wait to read more of him.

Honorable mention: Nico diAngelo (PJO, HoO, ToA), Daroga (Phantom of the Opera), Quincey Morris (Dracula), Hector (Starcrossed)

tasya

32 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #16: Minor Characters that Stole My Heart

  1. Zoe says:

    OMG YES TO ALL OF THESE. ❤ I absolutely loved Kenji, Remus and Sirius and am so glad to see them on your list. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous choices! ❤

    Like

  2. Melissa @ BookNerdMomo says:

    KENJI, NIKOLAI, AND MAGNUS!! YES! Those three are definetly three that have stolen my heart too. Are you excited for the new Shatter Met books? I hear there’s going to be a lot more Kenji in them! And Magnus is getting his own trilogy which I’m beyond excited about. Now we just need a Nikolai book lol. Great picks for this!! 😃

    Like

      • Melissa @ BookNerdMomo says:

        I have to admit I’m a little worried about being disappointed too. I’m going to go into it without letting my expectations get too high just in case. Better to expect less than expect too much sometimes for sure. 😊

        Like

  3. Inge says:

    I fully agree with you on Remus and Sirius – aside from the Weasley characters, these two men are my favourites. I also definitely would have DNFed the Grisha series if it hadn’t been for Nikolai, haha! He’s such a gem.

    Like

  4. Erin @ The Book Archive says:

    Kenji was honestly the saving grace of the Shatter Me trilogy, and I’m saying that as someone who pretty much enjoyed the entire series. He’s so precious. And don’t even get me STARTED on Remus and Sirius! You know, I would love a maurauders book just so I could see more of them as Hogwart’s students back in the day. And everyone loves Magnus Bane, how could you not? Awesome post!

    Like

  5. Nick says:

    YES! Nikolai! He is SO SO charming. I’m still holding out hope that Bardugo will write him his series. And Sirius and Lupin were two of my faves too!
    This is a great list. 🙂

    Like

  6. Holly says:

    Sirius and Lupin are such great characters– I definitely wish that books would be written about just their adventures! I also love that you included Magnus Bane because he’s so interesting 🙂 Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

