Top 5 Wednesday #17: Fandom I Already Left

top

Welcome to another edition of Top 5 Wednesday! Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely Samantha and Lainey. You can check the group here for more discussions and topic!

This week topic is about fandoms I already left. In case you don’t know it yet: I’m a huge fandom person. I don’t like things, I obsessed over them and join their fandoms😂 But over the time, I’ll lost interest because of some things and well, left the fandom. It’s rare, but it happened before. So here are some of them, and if there are some that you’re in… I’m sorry that I left you guys😶

Belieber & Directioners

Late 2000s and early 2010s me will cry if they ever saw this post. When JB first debuted, I’m just a smol bean who didn’t understand internet so I collect newspaper clips about him and followed news about him as much as I can. My World and My World 2.0? I can recite and sing all the songs perfectly, and I’m that type of person that can’t remember song lyrics. But when his 3rd album came out (Mistletoe?), his music changes too much for my taste that I didn’t like him anymore. And so, I left the fandom.

One Direction was the next love of my life. At this point I was very active on tumblr and twitter, so I was very updated on all the drama. Zux and Dark fanfic? The boys getting lost in Sydney (or somewhere in AUS)? Their first tattoo? The rise of Zerrie? Danielle Peazer? Larry and the rumor that Eleanor Calder is a fake girlfriend to cover for Larry? Louis’ thrust everytime he sings Everything About You? Moments suicide rumor? I WAS THERE THROUGH IT ALL. I also remember the whole Up All Night album perfectly. The funny thing is my case 1D is the opposite with JB: 1D’s songs are too similar. Between Up All Night and Take Me Home, there are songs that exactly the same and just too familiar. I don’t like change but I’d love some variations, guys. And so, I also left the fandom.

Trust me when I say I love the singer because of their songs, not their looks. Justin Bieber and One Direction are the examples of that.

Divergent

I swear I used to love this more than Hunger Games. When I first read Divergent, it truly blew me away. Tris was such a strong character and the whole factions and tattos idea are very compelling. Then Insurgent came out and I was like “meh”, but decided to continue. But Allegiant…. I can’t. It’s not the ending, I think it’s okay and I applaud Veronica Roth for a very different ending from all the happy endings in YA dystopia. But the amount of unecessary filler deaths and the overall plot are just sucks. At the end of the book, I wasn’t surprised anymore with the final death because I feel nothing anymore from all the filler deaths. They are meant to invoke feels at all, but in the end they just become too much it’s ridiculous. And the movie… oh god do we even have to go there? Worst adaptations ever.

Barbie Movies

These movies are my childhood. I might do a post about all my favorite barbie movies, but for this one, I need to explain my reason for leaving the fandom. Have you ever watch the 2000s barbie movies? Rapunzel, Nutcracker, 12 Dancing Princesses and stuff? Now have you watch the recent ones? The ones filled with fairies and nonsense magic and just UGH. It doesn’t even feel like the same Barbie anymore😢

The Vampire Diaries

I used to be a hardcore fan of TVD. I read the books, love them. Watch the show, also loved them. But then the sequels (the Return ones) are very bad, and as the season progressed, the characters kept dying and brought back and there are just too much drama. And yes I know that SPN also does the same thing but they don’t really handle that much drama in a season… I just can’t handle them anymore. I’d love to rewatch season 1-3 though, they were amazing.

Teen Wolf

This one still broke my heart everytime I think about it. I LOVED this show. I was so invested in the characters and the plot. But then, after season 3, it all went downhill. I tried to watch season 4 and I managed to finish it, but I can’t even finish the first episode of the 5th season. It’s just horrible. I’m waiting for the finale though, hopefully A LOT of old characters will make a comeback!

tasya

26 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #17: Fandom I Already Left

  1. theorangutanlibrarian says:

    Ah yes I get what you mean about Divergent- that was definitely a bold ending- but the rest of the book was really frustrating for me and there were so many problems with the idea in the end!! I loved TVD for the first three seasons- but that show went totally off the rails- especially since they just kept dying and coming back to life. It meant there were just no stakes anymore (no pun intended). I couldn’t bring myself to care when anyone died after that and then it got to the point when I was hoping certain characters would die cos they just irritated me so much… in short, I’m definitely off the TVD train. Teen Wolf was so great at the start- but you’re right- it just got plain weird after a while! I did watch it to the end, but I have to say I have absolutely no idea what happened in the penultimate season and the final season made only slightly more sense.

    Like

  2. Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight says:

    It takes a LOT for me to be in a fandom. I think I have considered myself part of maybe 3, ever? So yeah. I don’t leave them easily, or join them easily hah. But I feel you with Divergent. I looooved that series, but you’re so right- it wasn’t just the ending (I didn’t love it, I’ll be honest, but like you said, I didn’t care by the end, ugh), the whole last book was such a mess! The movies… oy. They were so messy that it didn’t even feel like the same franchise? So I just watched them for funsies 😉

    Like

  3. breenysbooks says:

    All of these made me cringe but also brought back some really great memories. It’s hard to believe that all of that stuff happened about 7-8 years ago. It makes me feel old. Awesome post, it really made feel nostalgic.

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and am very impressed by your blog. I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Like

  4. everythingalyce says:

    Oh my god, why didn’t I think of Divergent?! I remember eagerly waiting with everyone else for the release of Allegiant and getting SO excited when it was announced that they were going to be made into movies. Then Allegiant was so bland and boring and DRAGGED and it took me like six months to read it… Much disappointment.

    Like

  5. Tiffany @ The Bookish Thought says:

    I love Barbie! It probably was the highlight of my childhood. I even collected the movie and has around 20 xD And I feel the same way about Divergent! The first book was so good, but the second is really bad that I didn’t even bother to read the third one.

    Like

  6. Analee @ Book Snacks says:

    Omg BARBIE!! I loooooooved the 2000s movies omg haha that was my childhood! My sister watched the recent ones and I’ve seen parts of them and I was like, what happened???? Oh and SAME for Divergent!! I was so obsessed with the books when I first read them but I actually don’t really like them as much?? The first book was okay and I didn’t mind some of the characters but like the third book was bleh. Too much filler! Lovely post. ❤

    Like

  7. daniellepitter says:

    I used to LOVEEEEE Justin Bieber when he was first a little munchkin baby with the high voice and swooped over haircut!! He was just so cute!! But then he broke up with Selena Gomez (who’s also my bb but her fandom i’m out of too) and it was all downhill from there.

    I also LOVEEED Barbie movies, as corny as they were!! lol I still have the first four movies on VHS and DVD but I haven’t watched them in years. My fave was the Princess and Pauper!

    My T5W: http://poemsbyayoungartist.blogspot.com/2017/05/t5w-top-5-wednesday-fandoms-im-no.html#more

    Like

  8. Shouni says:

    BARBIE MOVIES! I completely and wholeheartedly understand. Early classic Barbie movies are my childhood and then they had to ruin it by releasing the recent ones. And that’s exactly how I feel about Divergent too, I loved he first one and then it just slowly went downhill.

    Like

  9. angel says:

    This reminded me of Justin’s first concert here in Manila back in 2011. I was devastated when my parents didn’t allow me to go so I just cut out newspaper clippings about his concert which I still have to this day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

