Top 5 Wednesday #19: No Romance? No Problem

top

Welcome to another edition of Top 5 Wednesday! Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely Samantha and Lainey. You can check the group here for more discussions and topic!

This week topic is about books with no romance. I admit, I’m not exactly a big shipper, but when I do ship someone, I ship them. I think I did a post a while back about my OTPs and my favorite side ships *cough go read them cough*. Since I’m not a big shipper though, most of the time I feel like the romance is interfering with the book’s plot😅 I also feel like drama within books could be decreased 80% when romance is not involved😀 I’m so excited for this week’s topic though, finally a chance to showcase my no-romance favorite books!

Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott

This is like the most underrated series of ever. If you like mythology, and by mythology I mean all kind of mythology, not only greek or roman, this book is perfect. It’s basically another human vs gods type of book, but full of twist and turns. It also has no romance! Our main characters are twins, and while the side characters have romance, either unfinished or turn into vengeance, they are kept to bare minimum, like less than 1% of the story.

Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by Lish McBride

I know the title sounds like a cheesy romance novel, but I promice you it’s not. It’s about a boy with mysterious father who turns out to be a necromancer. Our main character is a bit like Percy Jackson- sassy and funny, yet not as clueless as him. Highly recommended❗❗❗

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I’m pretty sure I’ll see at least 10 blogs mentioning this book in their T5W. And I think this book highly deserves it. I mean, it’s beautiful and a tear jerker, with Death as the narator- and a good one at that- and poor poor Liesel in the middle of carnage that was WW2. I admit I expected romance at some point in this book, and I think it might’ve sailed? But now we’ll never know😢

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

I’m also pretty sure there might’ve been a romance in this book, but heyyyy I live for tragic ending. It’s also set in the midst of WW2 and it might’ve even been more tragic and made me cry if only I didn’t read it during my senior year… in which I was too stressed out to feel anything else. This book has no Death as narrator, so everything is sad, mellow, and quiet. But it’s worth the pain and tears I promise you, so go read it!

Vicious by V.E Schwab

A book about villains, and better yet, there’s no romance to distract the villains from doing bad things! I mean, there’s a romantic subplot but I’m not convinced of it, since Eli is a cold-hearted one who can’t feel love. And I bet you’ve seen a lot of people raving about how amazing the plot and characters are, so if you haven’t read it yet, here’s another push: it has no romance.

tasya

23 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #19: No Romance? No Problem

  1. Rosie @ Rosie Writes Things says:

    Now that’s I’m actually thinking about it, the only book I remember reading that didn’t have a romance was “When” by Victoria Laurie… and, since I’ve read a good number of books, that’s REALLY surprising! I very much want to read “Vicious”!!!

    Like

  2. Marie says:

    Oh this is such a great topic – sometimes romance is definitely NOT needed and it’s resfreshing to hear about some books with no romances in it. Thank you so much for sharing this list! I have been hearing great things about Vicious and I have read and loved the ADSOM trilogy…I think it’s time to add that one to my TBR 🙂

    Like

  3. divabooknerd says:

    I must admit, I like a bit of romance but not too much to overwhelm the storyline. Some books would be better off without it entirely. I’ve seen Hold Me Closer, Necromancer around but the title turned me off a little, thinking it was another paranormal teen romance. Seeing you enjoyed it so much, really looking forward to grabbing a copy Tasya. Thank you so much for sharing! ❤ ❤

    Like

  4. camilleareads says:

    I have The Book Thief sitting on my shelf! I haven’t had the time yet to get to it. You know those moments when you need to be in a certain mind set to read a certain book? Yeah, that!

    Like

  5. Erika Gold says:

    Oooh, these all sound fantastic! I’m really interested in Hold Me Closer, Necromancer, since you mentioned it has a Percy-Jackson-esque feel to it. I’ve been dying to read Vicious by V.E. Schwab too. Thanks for these recommendations, Tasya!

    Like

  6. Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek says:

    Great list! I have a copy of the first book in the Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel but have yet to read it, glad there’s no romance overshadowing the plot!
    I also had Vicious on my list this week as well and it’s just an all around fantastic book. There is kind of romance like you said but I really don’t think it counts at all since she serves more as a catalyst of their feud than an actual love interest. 🙂

    Like

  7. matxi_books says:

    Great list!! And I am intrigued by your second pic so I’ll look it up!! As for The Book Thief it almost made my list, I certainly thought about it because it’s a great novel where romance isn’t needed!! But for me there’s a romance in that story, not your typical romance of course, but the relationship between Liesel and her father… Damn that was so intense!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

