Disappointing Books of 2017

2017 has been a year of disappointment so far.

There hasn’t been any book that blew me away and I always had one in the first half of the year. In 2016, that book was THE WRATH AND THE DAWN. In 2015, it was RUIN AND RISING. And in 2013, (apparently, I missed the 2014 reading challenge), it was CLOCKWORK PRINCESS. This year? None. All my reads have been very disappointing and to some books I rated 5 stars, I’m sure I’ll rate them lower if I had a better reading year.

I know a lot of bloggers have been doing their mid-year post, but due to the amount of underwhelming books I read this year, I decided to list my most disappointing reads. Hopefully, this post will help remove my bad reading streak and help me find that book of  the year.

Upside Down by Jaym Gates

The premise of this book is sooo interesting. I mean I hate tropes but I’m curious about inverted trope and whether I’d be able to guess which trope is used in the stories. But the stories are just boring and uninteresting. The essays, however, were better. I just read few stories, skipped the rest and proceed to the essays.

The Return by Arsene Lupin by Maurice LeBlanc

Look, I love Arsene Lupin. But this book is not an Arsene Lupin book; it doesn’t feel like one! It has a serious lack of Arsene Lupin himself which caused lack of humor and witty remarks. What we got is the “tragic”, full of angst love story of Patrice and Coralie. Definitely my least favorite Arsene Lupin book, ever.

Geekerella by Ashley Poston

I feel like I read a different book than the rest of the blogosphere guys. Everyone seems to fell head over heels with this book, calling it “cute” “quirky” “love letter to the fandom”. And I agree, this book is cute, quirky, and full of fandom references except… it’s too much fandom for me. The Starfield and fandom aspect overshadow the characters and plot; they centered around Starfield and Starfield only. We have no idea who the characters are outside of Starfield. It’s Starfield this, Starfield that, carrying the legacy for Starfield, and more Starfield.

I love fandom books, but this is just too much.

Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh

Remember when I said TWATD was my favorite book in 2016? Yeah, that doesn’t mean I’d love to re-read the same story with different names and setting over again.

The problem with Flame in the Mist is just it’s too similar with TWATD it bothers me because heyyyyy recycled plot!!! Also, people on the marketing team need to re-watch the Disney’s Mulan (if they can learn the story of real Mulan, that would be awesome) because IT’S NOT MULAN AT ALL. First, it sets in Japan while Mulan is for China. Second of all, Mulan cross-dressed to defend his father’s honor, not to satisfy some kind of curiosity and revenge.

It’s more 47 Ronin y’all. Stop being lazy with foreign culture and do your research.

Aurabel by Laura Dockrill

This book was a reminder why I shouldn’t read unplanned additional books. After the tragedy that was Of Neptune and basically the last 3 books in TMI, I promise myself I won’t read unplanned additional books because they were terrible. But Lorali was one of my favorite reads in 2016 (or 2015?) and it has open ending so when I got the chance to get my closure I’m sure as heck taking it.

I should’ve just leave this book alone.

The story just keeps dragging on and on and on. Even with me skim reading, I can still tell you what happened in this book. Also for some reason all the characters are so clueless? I can smell the plot and betrayal few pages into the book, yet some of them remain clueless until the end. It’s just such a frustrating book to read, which is sad since Lorali was such a magical reading experience.

What is your best and worst 2017 reads?

tasya

10 thoughts on “Disappointing Books of 2017

  1. Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight says:

    Ugh, I feel you. This year has been a MESS for me too. I am even afraid to read books I have been excited for at this point, because they’ve all been quite disappointing. I am nervous to read Flame in the Mist too, because I have sadly heard a LOT of people feeling the same as you. I really hope that the second half of the year treats you much better!

    Like

  2. Lauren says:

    It’s actually been a decently good year for me, but I’ve noticed an interesting trend – a lot of the books I’ve been absolutely loving are indie published and not by the big houses. It’s interesting to hear you didn’t like Geekerella too much. I keep seeing all the good praise but it’s never caught my interest – probably because I’ve never been too much into fandoms. I hope your reading year gets better soon! 🙂

    Like

  3. angel @ by my bookshelf says:

    Geekerella is actually one of the best books I’ve read this year, along with Alex Approximately by Jenn Bennett and What’s A Girl Gotta Do by Holly Bourne. Some of the books that disappointed me include Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven and We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. I’d include The Sun is Also a Star under disappointments but I haven’t gotten really far in the book (I’ve had the book since mid-May and it’s just toooo boring!!!)

    Like

  4. Anushka H. says:

    The Flame in the Mist seems to have disappointed a lot of people – which is surprising considering the hype it received before it released and the mixed reviews of everyone who actually got around to reading the book. It was actually on my TBR, but I decided to give it a miss. That’s too bad about Geekerella – so many people seem to have loved the book!

    Like

  5. kozbisa says:

    I have been really lucky with my book choices, because I have read tons that I love. I have been being more true to myself, and reading more fluffy contemporaries, which is my first love. But I have been delighted with the cultural coming of age stories and the journeys through grief that I have read too. There were a few I thought would be better, but even those were not bad.

    Like

  6. Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks says:

    Now that you mention that Flame in the Mist and TWATD are similar, I can’t help but recall all the similarities. 😳 I didn’t love Flame in the Mist – it was a disappointment, for sure, mainly because I’ve come to expect a lot more from Ahdieh. Bummer that Geekerella didn’t work out for you either – I’ve heard such great things about that one.

    ~ Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks

    Like

  7. Madalyn @ Novel Ink says:

    I’ve had a really great reading year so far, but I definitely agree that Geekerella was a letdown. It’s waaaay overhyped in the blogging community, in my opinion. I’ve heard from lots of people that Flame in the Mist was disappointing– so much so that I probably won’t pick it up. I hope your reading year gets better, Tasya! ❤

    Like

  8. Fleur @ Fleur Henley says:

    I feel like this has been a pretty good year for me, quite a lot of 4+ books! Although that also might be down to me rating them as soon as I’ve finished them. I’ve realised that once a couple of days have passed, it gets easier to point out the flaws and negative aspects of a book. Having said that, Mosquitoland was definitely disappointing to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

