Reawakened by Colleen Houck

17331819Reawakened

by Colleen Houck

Paperback, 400 pages

Published on August 15th 2015 by Hodder Paperback

✰✰

When seventeen-year-old Lilliana Young enters the Metropolitan Museum of Art one morning during spring break, the last thing she expects to find is a live Egyptian prince with godlike powers, who has been reawakened after a thousand years of mummification.

And she really can’t imagine being chosen to aid him in an epic quest that will lead them across the globe.

But fate has taken hold of Lily, and she, along with her sun prince, Amon, must travel to the Valley of the Kings, raise his brothers, and stop an evil, shape-shifting god named Seth from taking over the world.

9a6c5-goodreads

I seem to not have the best luck when it comes to Egyptian mythology. I did not enjoyed Rick Riordan’s Kane Chronicles and while I enjoyed Lily of the Nile, it’s very Isis-centered. Does this one change my luck? We’ll see.

Plot + Writing

I liked the plot, but not the writing. Even though the plot is predictable, I really enjoyed reading it. It is evenly paced and it doesn’t drag- not unless the romance is involved in it. I also like how it tried to explain the Egyptian mythology, BUT you might’ve want to read more on yourself, since this book got some things wrong. I especially liked the ancient-time flashbacks. The writing tries too hard to be poetic and quirky, and it just become awkward and cringe-y at times to read. The whole Egypt and pyramid setting also seem very unoriginal to me, it’s like the author only watched few Mummy movies or went into an Egypt exhibition before writing this book. So no score for writing and world building.

Characters (And the romance I guess)

Even though I was very picky, wore only designer clothes, and had a monthly allowance bigger than what most people my age earned in a year, I was by no means a snob.

I don’t believe in love at the first sight, but reading that sentence, I do believe in hate at the first sight. This is what our main character, Lily, told us about herself, along with “I’m not like other girls” and “woe is me because my parents are so rich yet they control me” monologue, which she will keep reminding us during the rest of the story. Even after she become obviously clingy and desperate with Amon, she keeps saying that “one of those dramatic young women vying for attention” in one way or another. She also keeps referring to herself like Liliana and Lily, along with how brave she is for joining Amon in his journey, “throw caution in the wind” (which means constantly putting herself in front of Amon, something she never does since she’s “not like other girls”), and have no care regarding her appearance.

giphy1

It’s funny how she regards herself as “good people reader” yet she can’t understand why Amon kept his distance and differentiate when is the time to fight for her life and time to seek Amon’s attention. And how brave she is, while we all know the only reason she went to that journey is because she wanted to rebel and keep her eyes on Amon. Also, if she’s so smart, get all straight As, and spend a lot of time in the museum, how can she not know that she is not supposed to touch, let alone move things inside the pyramid for there are a lot of booby traps waiting to send her to her death??

She also needs to stop mentioning how green Amon’s eyes are, how warm he is, how perfectly built his body is- basically just how “exotic” he is. Just. Stop.

Time for our heroes, the 3 brothers which are Amon, Asten, and Amhose. I don’t like Amon. I don’t know whether is it because my feeling to Lily affecting me, or I just don’t like him. The whole mind-control/hypnosis/magic things is so wrong to me, no matter what the reason, doesn’t sit right with me. He also the typical tortured/brooding hero. He’s just so cliche. I don’t know how he could be so different compared to his brothers, Asten and Amhose. They’re like Kenji Kishimoto and Leo Valdez, full of quips and smiles, yet very loyal with their purposes. It’s ironic how Amon is the reincarnation of Sun, but he’s the dullest between the brothers.

Another minor character is Dr. Hassan, which helped them through their journey. He’s so nice and devoted, so very… grandpa ish? xD I’m confused as why the book address him differently though, changing from Dr. Hassan, Osahar, to Oscar, sometimes in the same page. I also really like Anubis! He’s a bit like Apollo… with less haiku and narcissism. He actually reminds me of Anubis from Kane Chronicles.

Final Thoughts

I didn’t enjoy it. I might’ve, if we spend less time with our main characters and more on the plot development and minor characters. I might continue with the series for the sake of the minor character (hey, I survived Shatter Me by relying on Kenji and only Kenji) but I read the synopsis for the second and third book, and they are basically along the line of “doing everything she can to save Amon” and “embrace her destiny.

Also apparently, the author is well-known for not doing a good research on her books while her books use a lot of foreign cultures.

Thanks, but no.

Other reviews: on how perfect Lily is, on how the author didn’t do any research, and how the author basically reuse the plot of her previous series.

tasya

 

One thought on “Reawakened by Colleen Houck

Leave a Reply

