Screen Rambles: June

screen

Welcome back to Screen Rambles, a monthly features where I talk, rambling, or just fangirling about the movies and show I watched in the previous month. June…

Wonder Woman

I finally see this movie, albeit a bit late. I think I set the bar too high?? It has great plot and I was truly captivated with the story. I also really like the characters! I adore Diana, I can see why people think of her as role model. She was naive at first, but she held on to her conviction of wanting to be hero. I also really like Steve, his way is different from Diana’s straightforward way, but he’s still brave and heroic in the end. But it has weird slow motion effect which I hate. I mean the action are cool, but the stop/slow motion is really weird to watch! Also, is there anyone else think it gives me similar feeling of Captain America: The First Avenger? Or is it just me?

No, before you start doing fandom war, this is not a marvel vs dc comment.

Rate: 4/5 stars

Do I recommend it? Yessss. See the wonder woman in all her hype and glory.

The Mummy

I like everything, but overall it’s just an okay movie. It’s too… dark? It has similar humor with Brendan Fraser’s THE MUMMY, but since this movie has darker tone, they become kinda stilted. The story also feels kinda rushed… everything is happening in what? 3 days? Sofia Boutella is perfect as the mummy though, she’s fierce and powerful just like what I imagined an almost-pharaoh would be. I’m not sold with the other characters, but with how the movie ends, I’m curious on how the next movie will solve it.

Rate: 3/5 stars

Do I recommend it? For the sake of entertaiment? Yes.

S.W.A.T: Firefight

I admit, I had no intention of watching this when it showed up on my tv, but then I saw Gabriel Macht’s name and I’m sold. Also, I love the S.W.A.T movie. I didn’t expect much so I wasn’t that dissapointed. This movie has good action, but weak plot. It’s also too predictable and doesn’t pack enough punches. I can see the plot miles away. It’s still entertaining enough for me to spend my night though.

Rate: 2/5 stars

Do I recommend it? I guess, if you’re just looking for a movie to watch to keep yourself busy.

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man Tell No Tales (or Salazar’s Revenge)

This is my first hangout event with fellow interns, and while I was a bit skeptical at first (hence the lateness of watching it), it turned out to be better than I expected! I laugh and even shriek in some parts with the other, it was so much fun. The characters are still the characters we know and love, except Henry and Carina feels too much like Elizabeth and Will 2.0. The plot is also not that special, it was just okay, but I don’t know why, I just really enjoyed it. Maybe the familiarity of ships, blue ocean, and cast of characters and myth really got me. I LOVE LOVE LOVE THE ENDING. It’s definitely my favorite when Will and Elizabeth was reunited, it’s like something is actually lifted from me you know? They’ve been one of my first movie OTP, seeing them together again is like giving my childhood a bit of closure. It also gives a really good closure for the overall series, I mean the characters are all in good place. I’d love to see the original trio back in action, especially because of the post-credit scene, but if there is no more movies, I think this one wrap things up perfectly.

Rate: 4/5 stars

Do I recommend it? Yes! Not as good as the original trilogy, but it’s definitely better than the 4th one.

Kong: Skull Island

I’m sorry Tom Hiddleston but even your charisma couldn’t save the movie for me. Same for you Samuel L. Jackson. I really enjoyed the landscape and various monster we met along the movie and the relationship between Kong and Weaver is a sweet reminder of Kong and the girl (what’s her name?) relationship in the previous King Kong movie, albeit more toned down. What I did not enjoy it how useless all the characters are. Other than Tom’s tracker and Samuel’s vengeful general, the other characters seem useless and out of place in the movie.

Rate: 2/5 stars

Do I recommend this one? Sadly, no. Just stick with the 2005 Kong movie.

tasya

6 thoughts on “Screen Rambles: June

  1. Marie says:

    Yeah so I didn’t even know the new Pirates of the Carribean was released, I am SO out of the loop at times ahah. I was a bit nervous when I heard they were doing another movie, I feel like they are really never stopping with this series ahah. I’m really glad to hear you enjoyed it, despite the similarities between the old and new characters! 🙂

    Like

  2. Erin @ The Book Archive says:

    I LOVED Wonder Woman! I am usually more of a Marvel fan but when it comes to Batman or Wonder Woman, I love the DC movies. Diana was so cool, although I agree that the slow motion in action scenes was weird. And what was with that weird spy sounding music? And I STILL haven’t seen the new Pirates of the Caribbean movie. I stopped watching after the original trilogy, but I should give them another shot. Awesome post!

    Like

  3. Kai @ Quartzfeather says:

    Ooh sounds like Wonder Women’s a bit over hyped… I still planning on seeing it though cause EVERYONE has said it’s a must see. Also you’re interning??? That’s so cool! If you don’t mind me asking, what are you interning for?

    Like

  4. Rosie @ Rosie Writes Things says:

    I haven’t seen Wonder Woman yet — a little on the fence about DC movies, as I am a Marvel girl.

    As for The Mummy? Gaaaaaah. I don’t know why they have to remake a good thing, honestly. I don’t really have a desire to see it, and I really don’t like Tom Cruise. 😦

    But Pirates!!! So glad to see this got good reviews. The originally trilogy was amazing to me. But somehow I never got around to the fourth movie? I remember I tried watching it a couple of times but never got further than maybe 30 minutes in. I need to watch it, I think, so that I can watch this 5th movie, but I don’t know when I’ll get around to it. It’ll probably be on DVD by that time lol!

    Like

    • tasya @ the literary huntress says:

      I think just see it without thinking about the whole Marvel vs DC thing… it’s fun to watch 😀 Yeah me neither. It seems like every studio is desperate at making cinematic universe and they tried to do it in short time to play catch up with Marvel. What they don’t realize is building Cinematic Universe took YEARS not just by 1 movie-_- I think you can skip the 4th one and you’ll be fine. It’s terrible.

      Like

Leave a Reply

