The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter // Test? What Test?

9681214

The Goddess Test

by Aimee Carter

Ebook, 211 pages

Published September 6th 2011 by Mira Ink

✰✰✰✰.5

Every girl who had taken the test has died.

Now it’s Kate’s turn.

It’s always been just Kate and her mom – and her mother is dying. Her last wish? To move back to her childhood home. So Kate’s going to start at a new school with no friends, no other family and the fear that her mother won’t live past the fall.

Then she meets Henry. Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing. He claims to be Hades, god of the Underworld – and if she accepts his bargain, he’ll keep her mother alive while Kate tries to pass seven tests.

Kate is sure he’s crazy – until she sees him bring a girl back from the dead. Now saving her mother seems crazily possible. If she succeeds, she’ll become Henry’s future bride and a goddess.

If she fails…

9a6c5-goodreads

Kate’s mother doesn’t have much time left, and her dying wish is for them to go back to her childhood town, Eden. It has always been Kate and her mother, so of course, she went back. There, after an unfortunate prank, she met a mysterious guy that can raise a dead girl and helped her mother, on the condition that she read the myth of Persephone.

The Goddess Test is one of the oldest books on my TBR. Starcrossed by Josephine Angeline is one of my favorite series ever and I keep getting Goddess Test as similar book recs. I’ve been pushing it off because I feel like my reading taste has changed, but since July is a #MonthofMyths, I decided to go for it. I’m so glad I did because I really enjoyed reading it.

For a book that is titled The Goddess Test, the test aspect wasn’t very emphasized. The tests were subtle, and no one knows what they are. It might seem boring for some people to see what Kate’s up to every day, what she wears and what she eats- I admit, I felt that way at some point- but when everything was revealed, I was very pleased that I didn’t see that coming. It happens for all kind of twist in this book; I guess some of them, but mostly, the revelation at the end of the book caught me by surprise.

The plot is intriguing. As I said before, we have no idea what’s the tests are or who’s who. But there are some things that painfully obvious, while the others took me by surprise. The writing flows really well; I can vividly imagine Eden Manor and its splendor. I really wish the whole modernisation of Olympians were explained more.

Speaking about the Olympians, they are one big happy family here! It’s rare we see them as a peaceful family who’s trying to help each other, so I really enjoyed it. But on the other hand, is there some kind of pact between authors that when they write about Greek myth, Hades become this nice, lonely, mistreated guy and Hera become this trouble maker bitch queen? And no, that’s not my word. All the books, where Hera is concerned, always called her a bitch queen. Even PJO/HoO.

I like Henry because he is Hades, and as I said, he doesn’t change much from any other books. But he gets extra points for always treating Kate with respect and as his equal, and also for his loyalty towards Persephone.

Kate is definitely my kind of character. She’s strong willed, not in a bad way that she will charged into danger unknown or talk back recklessly, but in a sense that she’s compassionate and sticks to her value. Kate cares about people around her and doesn’t let her emotions cloud her judgment. Her main flaw is just how naive she is.

I can’t talk about the other characters and aspect without spoiling the book, so in summary, I really liked this book! I flew through it and really enjoyed the final reveal. The characters are also fascinating and likeable. Its only flaw is that it doesn’t highlight enough test because it feels kinda pointless reading about Kate picking dresses and brushing horses.

tasya

6 thoughts on “The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter // Test? What Test?

  1. Zoe says:

    I completely agree! This is such an entertaining and fun to read book and I’m so glad you enjoyed it as much as I did. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Like

  2. Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity says:

    This one has been on my TBR forever! I don’t know why Ive never picked it up (I think I even own a copy?), but your review has definitely reignited my interest in it, Tasya! I like the sound of the Olympians, and I always love the inclusion of the Hades/Persephone mythology because it’s pretty much my favourite 🙂

    I’m not too bothered by the every day aspects that might be included in this one, I think sometimes it can lend more character development because we get to see how they act in different places and with different people!

    Do you think you’ll read the other books in the series? I hope you like them if you do!

    Like

    • tasya @ the literary huntress says:

      whoop I hope you’ll get to it soon! it’s pretty mundane though (re: the everyday aspect) so be prepared 😀 I think I would… not very sure about the final book because it sounds very breaking dawn-ish, but i’d definitely read the 2nd one!

      Like

  3. Erin @ The Book Archive says:

    I remember reading this series a couple of years ago, and I really liked the whole Hades being depicted as a hero rather than a villain. But the final book in the series also seriously disappointed me, so I have mixed feelings. Honestly, I kind of forgot about this series until it popped up on your blog! Awesome review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

