July Wrap Up and August TBR // What is Sleep?

wrap-up

July was a crazy chaotic month. I didn’t expect it to be THAT chaotic that I ended up getting overwhelmed very quickly. I got up, went to my internships, went back, worked on one of my 3 papers/annual workplan/orientation week plan. The last 2 weeks of July? I was basically a zombie, just going through the motion of the day.

149d4-untitledI’ve been reading a lot of backlist books this month, mainly because it’s #MonthofMyths and most of mythology books on my tbr are backlist books. I managed to read 4 books: 1 Egyptian Mythology and 3 Greek Mythology. Not as diverse as I hoped to be, since in the end I gravitated back towards Greek Myth.

  1. THE IMMORTAL LIFE OF HENRIETTA LACKS by Rebecca Skloot // ✰✰✰✰✰
  2. REAWAKENED by Colleen Houck // ✰✰
  3. PROMISE OF SHADOWS by Justina Ireland // ✰✰✰
  4. THE GODDESS TEST by Aimee Carter // ✰✰✰✰.5
  5. FEMININE MYSTIQUE by Betty Friedan // DNF
  6. THE DARK ORACLE by Rick Riordan // ✰✰✰✰
  7. THE HUNDRETH QUEEN by Emily R. King {ARC} // ✰✰✰
  8. ONE FOR SORROW by Mary Downing Hahn {ARC} // ✰

4970e-untitled1
Since August is my last month of internship I would like to read all my tbr books in my office library. But I also have a lot of ARCs to read, so we’ll see what happens.

  1. KAFKA ON THE SHORE by Haruki Murakami
  2. LOOK WHO’S BACK by Timur Vermes
  3. DEATH COMES TO PEMBERLEY by P.D James
  4. THE WINTER SEA by Susanna Kearsley

2cc4a-untitled2

50d1d-untitled3

I went to Bromo this month! For those of you who doesn’t know, Bromo is this mountain in East Java famous for its sunrise. I didn’t get to see the sunrise though, I got sick while camping. As a city girl who’s used to average temperature 32°C, Bromo 8°C was too cold for me. But I managed to sight see around Bromo and even went to this amazing waterfall, Coban Rondo. This trip messed up my already messy sleep schedule though.

Other than that, I’ve been taking walks around my new place almost everyday. I just realized that I’ve been here for a month, yet I never actually went around my neighbourhood, so I decided to do just that. I always loved walking, so it’s actually perfect and we have a gorgeous mini park that I’ve been taking advantage as my reading base camp every afternoon. Not only walking, I also have been exploring food in Surabaya. I just want to experience it while I’m here!😂

Game of Thrones happened. The premiere dissapoint me, it was just meh and nothing happened. But I can see why it was like that, it was setting things up! I didn’t like Ed’s cameo, but that doesn’t mean I’ll hate him. The second episode was where things are getting good. Can’t wait for the rest of the season!

Other than Game of Thrones, Buzzfeed Unsolved is back! For those of you who doesn’t know, Unsolved is a series by Buzzfeed which investigates unsolved mysteries like murders or supernatural things. It can get creepy at times, but the chemistry between Shane and Ryan works really well!

untitled4

I posted a lot since I already drafted all of them, but if you noticed, I’ve been quiet on the commenting front *sigh*. This month I reviewed ONE ITALIAN SUMMER, REAWAKENED, PROMISE OF SHADOWS, THE IMMORTAL LIFE OF HENRIETTA LACKS, and THE GODDESS TEST. I did the Get to Know Me Uncomfortably Well as well as Birthday Book Tag. I also ranted about Albus Dumbledore and did T5W on no romance books. Finally I talked about my dissapointing reading year and what I watched on June.

I haven’t drafted anything for August so I might not post as often as I have been. And I also won’t have July’s screen rambles since I barely watched anything.

tasya

16 thoughts on “July Wrap Up and August TBR // What is Sleep?

  1. Cody says:

    Ahh you read so many books, I’m so envious. I feel like I’m in a huge slump. Also I simply must know your thoughts on The Hundredth Queen, I still haven’t read my copy and it seems like something I would enjoy but I’ve seen a few mixed reviews, oops!

    Anyway I love this post Tasya!

    Like

  2. Erin @ The Book Archive says:

    Sleep is a myth, that’s what it is. July was crazy for me, but it sounds like an even more insane adventure for you! I’m glad you are exploring your new home more ☺️ Also Buzzfeed Unsolved is SO GREAT. And funny. Maybe even a little scary? Anyway, happy August!

    Like

    • tasya @ the literary huntress says:

      here’s for a better sleeping schedule in August! (so far it’s not for me😅) YESS. I love it whenever Ryan freaks out and Shane just annoys him😂 Poor Ryan. But Ryan freaks out also scares me sometimes, and Shane skepticism is the only thing that keeps me going at times like that😂

      Like

  3. Marie says:

    Oh you had a good reading month, that’s great! I hope August will be a little less hectic for you and that you’ll find a good sleeping schedule again ❤ Sending you love ❤ ❤

    Like

  4. Anna says:

    I’m impressed that you read as much as you did with such a hectic month! My July also got surprisingly busy on me, and I didn’t read nearly as much as I did in June. I’m also jealous of drafted posts– I’m working on building up posts so that if I get super busy again my blog won’t suffer, but it’s hard!

    Like

Leave a Reply

