Top 5 Wednesday #20: Covers I’d Love to Live In

top

Welcome to another edition of Top 5 Wednesday! Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely Samantha and Lainey. You can check the group here for more discussions and topic!

This week topic is actually about second book best, but I decided to do last week’s topic since I missed it. I proudly admitted that I do judge a book by it’s cover. I mean, it’s something that will give me the first impression of the book, so of course I can judge it. And I bet publishers hire experts to design their cover because they know readers will judge the book by its cover. So anyway, this week topic is basically about covers so good, you’d love to live in it. My picks might not be the most beautiful covers out there, but whenever I see it, they always pulled me and give me some sort of feelings. Let’s just get into it.

Compulsion

This cover always calls to me, despite being the simplest of the covers here. There’s just something about the plantation on the cover that painted vivid imagery of summer heat, filled with romance and gothic mystery, and they just pull me in! It also reminds me of some telenovelas that I used to watch when I was a kid; I don’t remember the title, but I remember that I really loved it. So yeah, aside of the gothic mystery thingy, I’d love to be transported to that plantation!

Elegy

This cover just looks so serene, the kind of summer picture I’d love to take on my vacation. The water is just so clear and her pose just make her like a water goddess. The red also very eyecatching! I’d love to swim there and take a picture.

Boys of Summer

Boys, summer, and beaches… why not?

Yseult

Yes, I’m a beach and summer person. But I also love history, and Arthurian legend is definitely one of the most fascinating legend. I’d love to live at that time. Imagine all the magic and dragons present at that time!

Gold

By this time I bet you guys already figured I’m in love with all thing mythological and historical. Lately, I find myself being very interested with Scotland and Ireland (my current read is The Winter Sea). I already read the first book, Silver, but I didn’t like it. The whole mythology is unique though, so I might continue to Gold, but not anytime soon.

tasya

 

11 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #20: Covers I’d Love to Live In

  1. Marie says:

    Oh I really love Elegy’s cover, it is sooo pretty. I am always, forsome reason, drawn to the cover of Compulsion, there is something about the color scheme, something definitely mysterious as well… I’d like to read that book 🙂 Great post! 🙂

    Like

  2. nevillegirl says:

    Oh my god I just realized there are PEOPLE on the cover of Compulsion… somehow I’d never noticed that before, lol. I thought it was just a picture of trees. Why am I like this.

    Ooh, I’d never heard of Gold before, but I may have to try it! I spent part of the summer in Ireland studying abroad and I miss it soooo much, I’d love to return to it in person someday but for now I’ll have to content myself with visiting via the pages of a book. 😉

    Like

  3. Erin @ The Book Archive says:

    Your reasoning for Boys of Summer is hilarious! I love Elegy’s cover the best, all those pretty colors. And I also love the beach. I just love swimming in the ocean and thinking about how big it actually is. It’s essentially a giant, deadly bathtub of water. Awesome post, Tasya!

    Like

Leave a Reply

