Books I Need to Read Before 2017 End

Books I Need to Read Before 2017 Ends.png

TBH, I hate doing this type of post.

While it helps me prioritize which books to read and which books I need to set aside, at the same time, for some reason, it also make books on my list have lower chance of being read. I don’t know why. I mean, look at all my tbr post before! In 2015, I wrote about 2016 Releases and I actually only have read 1 out of 10 books on that list. I wrote about unfinished series I need to finish in 2016, and I haven’t finished any of those series until now. This year I listed my 5 summer TBR and I only have read 2 of them.

It’s like a curse; whenever I’m writing this list post, I always got distracted.

BUT this post is going to be different! Especially since I own all the books listed in the series (lies, really. I owned most of the books in other list yet I’ve never read them either) and I promise I’m going to read them. We have like 3 months left before the end of 2017, so I’m going to put 2 of them on my monthly TBR. Hopefully, this game plan works.

Hopefully.

Untitled design (1).png

The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler || I just bought a physical copy of this book so I’M GOING TO READ IT NEXT MONTH. Or as soon as possible really.

Compulsion by Martina Boone || I mean COME ON! This book has popped up on my TBR so often I lost count of it and yet, I still haven’t read it. This year will be the year folks, you have my word.

The Merciless by Danielle Vega || Another old book that always pops up during the Halloween season. Yet it’s still unread.

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins || I love Anna, so why didn’t I continue with this book immediately?

Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor || I’ve been slowly rereading this series to read this book. I already finished book #1, going to start book #2 once I got back, and then read this book.

Untitled design.png

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor || The reason why I’ve been re-reading DoSaB. While it can stand as its own, I love seeing how far an author has improved and what’s better way to see it then re-reading her previous series? ALL MOMENTS HAVE LEAD TO THIS GUYS.

Half Bad by Sally Green || I also have this book so wHY NOT. I’ve heard amazing things about this series and I’m really really excited to read it.

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand || I love Hand’s Unearthly series, and I love historical fiction. All the raving reviews about this book doesn’t hurt either, so why haven’t I read it?

Look Who’s Back by Timur Vermes || I was really excited to read this one but with all the violence, white supremacist and nazi on the news I don’t feel excited anymore. I will still read it though.

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare || You guys know how much I love this series and how this is my favorite series EVER but the funny thing is I’ve never re-read it. I’m really curious how I feel now years later re-reading this. I really hope I still love this series. I really hope I’ll love it even more.

What books do you want to read before 2018?

tasya

 

35 thoughts on “Books I Need to Read Before 2017 End

  1. Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity says:

    YESSS, read The Summer of Chasing Mermaids, Tasya! It’s such a gorgeous book and one of my all time favourite contemporaries 😀 I really hope you end up loving it!

    I actually picked up a copy of The Merciless when I was at the bookstore yesterday, but I didn’t end up buying it. It IS on my TBR because it sounds really interesting. Maybe I will see if my library has it, and try and read it around Halloween. I never actually get around to reading creepy books at Halloween so maybe this year will be different!

    As for what i want to read before 2017 is over… mainly Now I Rise! And I Darken is one of my favourite books, and I cannot believe I haven’t read its sequel yet! D: Since I have stopped requesting books overall I hope I will have time for it towards the end of the year!

    Like

  2. Molly's Book Nook says:

    I still need to read My Lady Jane and Strange the Dreamer! I also REALLY want to get Caraval, Crooked Kingdom, ADSOM, ACOWAR, and Stalking Jack the Ripper. I’m so behind on recent releases haha

    Like

  3. Cody says:

    Ohhh I am loving this list!!! Although I do agree with your hate on doing these posts, it’s so much stress when you realise how much you need to read or how many books have been left unread 😦
    I’ve been meaning to read Compulsion for months too!! It always appears on my Goodreads.
    I can’t wait for you to read Strange the Dreamer it’s absolutely beautiful!

    Amazing list Tasya!

    Cody @ Literary-ly Obsessed

    Like

  4. Rosie @ Rosie Writes Things says:

    AHHHH Strange the Dreamer is definitely my favorite book of 2017 so far. It was just SO amazing. And I really loved the DoSaB series, but this one? She improved her writing style, which was already awesome to begin with! I don’t know how it’s possible.

    Like

  5. Erin Tweed says:

    You know, that’s one reason I am always so hesitant to make TBR’s or anything of that sort, because I never follow them. I’ve had The Merciless on mine for YEARS, as well as Dreams of Gods and Monsters. But I REALLY want to read Strange the Dreamer. Lola is my favorite of that Perkins series, and Clockwork Angel is a book I need to reread too, as I was describing it to my boyfriend recently and realized I didn’t even remember the actual plot. Awesome post, and good luck sticking to it, Tasya! I believe in you!

    Like

  6. Beware Of The Reader says:

    Too many books to read but I really hope to read A Darker Shade of Magic. I even signed up for a read along in the hope it was the kick I needed. I also want to read First We Were IV

    Like

  7. itsareaderslife says:

    I recently read all three Anna books (my review for the first one went up today) and I ended up loving the last book of the series more than the others! I definitely recommend you continue😊

    Like

  8. Lauren says:

    My Lady Jane is such a great book, and since you love Cynthia Hand’s work, I think you’ll love it! Compulsion is on my list too. It seems like the type of book I’d absolutely love so really I have no idea why I haven’t picked it up yet. Hope you end of up loving most (if not all) of these! 🙂

    Lauren @ Lauren’s Crammed Bookshelf

    Like

  9. Holly says:

    I’ve heard mixed reviews of Half Bad, but I read it a few years ago and LOVED it. It’s definitely perfect for the Halloween season 🙂 Best of luck with all of your reading!!

    Like

  10. kozbisa says:

    I really liked Compulsion and the final book in that series is one I need to read before the end of 2017. I actually have it now, so chances look good. I really love Ockler and I think Mermaids was the first book I read by her. Really liked it. Mostly I want to read series enders before the end of this year. I may do a month where I try to get ’em done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

