September Wrap Up & August TBR // A Fresh Start

wrap-up

I know like everybody else I’m saying this phrase a lot, but I really can’t believe how fast time flies! It seems like only yesterday I did my finals, and now it’s been a month of a new academic year 😶 A lot is happening is September personal life-wise, but first, let’s talk about the books!

149d4-untitled

  1. PRETTY NASTY LOVELY by Rosalind Noonan {ARC} // ✰✰✰✰
  2. THE NEVERLAND WARS by Audrey Greathouse {ARC} // ✰.5
  3. THE CREEPS by Frans Krausse {ARC} // ✰✰✰✰✰
  4. BASIC WITCHES by Jaya Saxena {ARC} // ✰✰
  5. WHEN THE MOON COMES by Paul Harbridge {ARC} // ✰✰✰✰
  6. LADY STUFF by Loryn Brantz {ARC} // ✰✰✰
  7. DAYS OF BLOOD AND STARLIGHT by Laini Taylor // ✰✰✰.5
  8. THE BEAR AND THE NIGHTINGALE by Katherine Arden // ✰✰✰✰✰

Links lead to my review, unless stated.

As you can see, most of the books I read this month are ARCs, specifically graphic novel ARCs. I just wasn’t in the mood to read and trying to improve my Netgalley ratio, so I decided to read the quickest and most likely to enjoy books. I plan to finally finish Daughter of Smoke and Bone series this year, but I’ve been rereading the 2nd book very slowly 😦 And finally, I got approved for THE GIRL IN THE TOWER on Netgalley, therefore I decided to read THE BEAR AND THE NIGHTINGALE this month.

4970e-untitled1

  1. JANE EYRE by Charlotte Bronte
  2. THE DEAD HOUSE by Dawn Kurtagich
  3. THE BONE SEASON by Samantha Shanon
  4. COMPULSION by Martina Boone
  5. THE MERCILESS by Danielle Vega

Halloween is right around the corner and while we don’t celebrate it in my country, that doesn’t mean that I can’t participate in scaring myself right? 😏 I promise I will read COMPULSION and THE MERCILESS this year!

2cc4a-untitled2

50d1d-untitled3

September was like a fresh clean slate for me. I changed major from biotechnology to biomedicine, and I’m loving it. It’s been a while since I’m truly excited about what I’m studying and I feel like I got my motivation back. I’m truly interested in the subjects and excited to know more. All I wanted to do when I got home was to revise and rewriting my class notes, which explains my lack of reading motivation this month and the increase of graphic novels.

There are also some things that happen personally, and let’s just say I’m super glad it happened. It’s like another chance for a fresh start in my personal life. I’ve been going out a lot with my uni friends and high school friends. I got this sense of freedom of who I’m going out with and what I can do. Even though I’m in biomedicine, I found myself reading a lot of political articles and videos, something I am always passionate about. It feels like I’m being me again after so long you know? Driven and passionate, making myself happy and reconnecting with my friends and family. I also been listening to Taylor Swift’s Ready For It and Blackpink’s As if It’s Your Last, which are amazing! So yeah, I found September to be an amazing month.

I also reactivated my other tumblr accounts! I have like… 5 blogs, which is crazy but something I love doing. For the first half of this year, the only one I’m really using is the fandom one, ughvaldez. But earlier this month I went to those other 4 accounts and just reactivated them. I really missed doing this. I already have them since 2010, so it felt nostalgic to me. It’s sad too seeing how many users I’ve been following since those early days have deactivated or just plain gone. I guess most of them just moving on with their lives. Anyways, you can check them out if you like girly things, summer/tropical post, vintage post, and vertical basic tumblr things.

Also, I’ve been thinking of redesigning, but I don’t know whether I’ll have the time to actually doing it or not. Exams are coming and I will need to focus on them, so maybe later this year. But it’s definitely on my mind!

🎃🎃🎃Oh oh OH! To celebrate halloween, I’m doing a 4 series spooktober post, so watch out for those starting this week!🎃🎃🎃

untitled4

Phew, that was a long one! Tell me, how’s your September? Do you have any upcoming major things in October?

tasya

14 thoughts on “September Wrap Up & August TBR // A Fresh Start

  1. Topaz says:

    I’m so glad you had such a lovely September, Tasya! Fresh starts can be so difficult to recognise even when they’re right in front of us, but it sounds like you’re taking yours as the gift it’s always been. I’m so excited for all of the Halloween specials to begin popping up on my favourite blogs this month – we don’t celebrate it too much in my country either, but I rather adore the spookiness of it, haha. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us, & here’s hoping October is even more beautiful! xo

    Topaz (Six Impossible Things)

    Like

    • tasya @ the literary huntress says:

      I love how you put into words what I feel ❤ Yeah it is always hard because most of the time fresh start = change, and change isn't always easy 🙂 I also adore the spookiness and the fun spirit of it, I'm always jealous of seeing people dressing up and have fun on Halloween 😀 Have a wonderful October too Topaz! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ruzaika @ The Regal Critiques says:

    I’ve only read Jane Eyre from that list but I loved it! I hope you do too- it’s one of my faves! I’m glad biomedicine is working out great for you, Tasya, it must have taken quite some guts to change your major like that!
    I used to love Tumblr but am sadly not that into it anymore- maybe I’ll be interested in venturing into it again like you have too ahaha 😀 Good luck with your Spooktober tbr, and hope you have a great month!

    Ruzaika @ The Regal Critiques

    Like

  3. Kai @ Quartzfeather says:

    Ooh blog redesigns are always fun! If you do plan on revamping your blog, I can’t wait to see what you come up with! I read The Neverland Wars awhile back, and ugh I didn’t like it either, in fact, I don’t think I even finished it…

    Like

  4. Marie says:

    Ohh it sounds like you had a great reading month! 🙂 and I’m so happy to hear that you’re feeling happier and more and more like, well, yourself during this month. AND that you’re enjoying your new major, this is so awesome. I hope you’ll have an amazing October! 🙂

    Like

  5. Veronika Éles says:

    Your October/Halloween tbr looks great! I really liked Jane Eyre, although I feel like I should reread it, because I only remember bits and pieces of it, and I feel like I was probably a bit young when I read it. In any case, The Merciless is SO GORY omg, one of the bloodiest YA novels I’ve ever read, and also, really-really dark and twisted. The Dead House is one of my ALL TIME FAVES, so I really-really hope you’ll love it!

    I can’t wait for the Halloween-specials on your blog! We usually go all out in October on our blog, but this month neither of us will have a lot of time, so we’ll do around 4-5 Halloween-related posts. I AM SO EXCITED FOR THEM TO GO LIVE, BASICALLY. Around the end of October, I’ll have like, a two weeks long short fall break at uni, so, of course, I am already eagerly awaiting that haha.

    I’m happy September turned out to be so good for you & that you enjoy what you’re studying SO MUCH! As for Tumblr – I could never even keep up with my one account, so like, you having 5 blogs has me in awe. I’m more into Pinterest, I think, but I’ve been neglecting that, too, lately. Also, I LOVE Ready For It so much.

    Wonderful post! Hope you’ll have a wonderful October & good luck with your studies and TBR!!

    Veronika @ The Regal Critiques

    Like

Leave a Reply

