Top 5 Wednesday #24: Scary Settings

top

Welcome to another edition of Top 5 Wednesday, which is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely Samantha and Lainey. You can check the group here for more discussions and topic.

I skipped last week’s topic, which is book featuring witches. I really don’t understand what is the fascination with witches is (no tomatoes please). Sure it will be cool to be able to do magic, but can I just be ~magical~ without being a witch? Or maybe it’s just because I like the word enchantress and sorceress more than witches¯\_(ツ)_/¯

This week’s topic is… books scary settings. Setting is definitely an important aspect for me while reading. After all, one of the reason why I love the grishaverse so much is because how vividly real the world building is. And when reading mystery/thriller, it’s the setting that often give us the suspense and creeps. I definitely have some of my fave here, so let’s get into it!

Also, keep reading until the end of the post to see my Halloween Read-A-Thon TBR!

Dracula by Bram Stoker

One of the best thing in this book is the setting. We follow Jonathan Harker on his journey; through the small villages and dark valleys in Transylvannia, into the dark woods where the wolves circle around him, until he reaches the Dracula Castle. The Castle itself is scary: tall, dark, imposing, with old, sparse and ruined interior. Its presence right next to a cliff does not help our main character either. When he returned to England, we are presented with gloomy and rainy England, with the evil presence of Count Dracula lurking everywhere. The setting definitely enhances the reading experience, and one of the spookiest I’ve read in a classics!

Say Her Name by Juno Dawson

I always hate boarding school setting because some tragedies are bound to happen there, but a gloomy, old, always raining boarding school where a certain ghost in the mirror originates from? No thanks.

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

I’d be lying if I said that I’m not scared of Henrietta. From the outside, it might be an old, sleepy town. Once you get inside though… a lot of unexplainable things happening. From ghosts, demons, hidden cave, kidnapping mirrors, to Cabeswater itself. As much as I want to join the Gangsey, I don’t want to live in Henrietta.

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

It’s been a while since I read this book, but I remember how depressing the atmosphere is. Whether or not there were real ghost there, the pain and hurt happening there definitely left their mark. Both Thrushcross Grange and Wuthering Heights are in the middle of remote moor, and all the rain and flashback happening throughout the book definitely did not help to cheer up the setting.

Horrorstor by Grady Hendrix

I love this book. This book set in Orsk furniture, a fictional Ikea look alike where it seems like perfect catalogue in the day but filled with murderous ghost at night. The ending screw me up (PLEASE DO A SEQUEL) and Ikea never looked the same afterwards.

And now, for the readathon…

Halloween Readathon

Last year, I participated in Lauren @ Wonderless Review‘s halloween readathon, and this year, I decided to participate again. I had a lot of fun and creeps last year, and I can’t wait to read more this year! Here are my TBR for this year readathon:

  • Read a book with creepy covers: THE DEAD HOUSE by Dawn Kurtagich
  • Read a supernatural or paranormal books: COMPULSION by Martina Boone
  • Read a horror or thriller books: THE MERCILESS by Danielle Vega
  • Read a book after sunset: JANE EYRE by Charlotte Bronte
  • Watch a horror or thriller move: I’ll watch either Halloween or The Shining. I’m always curious of what’s the deal with the latter.
  • Read a scary book I’ve been putting off OR from a free genre: TBA, depending on whether I was very scared or not.
  • Read 7 books: also TBA

You can also see my last year’s TBR and wrap up here and here, respectively.

So tell me: what is the creepiest setting you’ve ever read? Will you join this year’s halloween readathon? Let me know in the comment below!

tasya

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #24: Scary Settings

  1. Marie says:

    Ohh I would NOT want to live in Henrietta either – I’d be too scared every time anything moves outside, even if it’s just the wind or something, ahah. I’d much rather read about it all than live it ahah 🙂 Best of luck for the readathon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

