Mini Reviews #28: July and August Reads

Dark Waters by Katherine Arden The third book in the Small Spaces series, I was surprised when I realized that the page count is shorter than the other books in the series. As the penultimate book, I just feel like it should be longer with the Smiling Man getting angrier and building up his threats. … More Mini Reviews #28: July and August Reads

Hotel Magnifique by Emily J. Taylor

Hotel Magnifique by Emily J. Taylor eARC, Published April 5th 2022 by Razorbill For fans of Caraval and The Night Circus, this decadent and darkly enchanting YA fantasy, set against the backdrop of a Belle Époque-inspired hotel, follows seventeen-year-old Jani as she uncovers the deeply disturbing secrets of the legendary Hotel Magnifique. All her life, … More Hotel Magnifique by Emily J. Taylor

The Last Tang Standing by Lauren Ho

Before we start, I would like to ask you, dear readers, to join the fight and use your voice in fighting inequality and injustice for Black Lives Matter. Here are some resources for you to help: (So far) the most comprehensive web of resources for petitions, donations, text/calls, for protesters, and other resources: https://blacklivesmatters.carrd.co/ If … More The Last Tang Standing by Lauren Ho

Wanderlost by Jen Malone // Not-so travelling around Europe

Wanderlost by Jen Malone ebook, 352 pages Published May 31st 2016 by HarperTeen ✰✰.5 Not all those who wander are lost, but Aubree Sadler most definitely is on this novel’s whirlwind trip through Europe. A romantic and charming YA debut perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Jenny Han. Aubree can’t think of a better place … More Wanderlost by Jen Malone // Not-so travelling around Europe

Mini Reviews: Recent Reads, part III // Myths, killer woods, and essay collection from women who reported from battlefield

Mythos: A Retelling of the Myths of Ancient Greece by Stephen Fry Paperback, 442 pages Published July 26th 2018 by Penguin ✰✰.5 No one loves and quarrels, desires and deceives as boldly or brilliantly as Greek gods and goddesses. In Stephen Fry’s vivid retelling we gaze in wonder as wise Athena is born from the cracking … More Mini Reviews: Recent Reads, part III // Myths, killer woods, and essay collection from women who reported from battlefield