Mini Reviews: May-July Graphic Novel

Manga Yokai Stories by Sean Michael Wilson eARC, 136 pages Expected publication: September 15th 2020 ✰✰✰✰✰ This thrilling collection of seven Japanese ghost stories will captivate lovers of yokai stories! Manga Yokai Stories includes: Nuke-kubi: A masterless samurai is trapped in a house haunted by headless goblins The Screen Maiden: A young man develops an … More Mini Reviews: May-July Graphic Novel

Mini Reviews: Graphic Novels & Illustrated Books

Happily Ever After & Everything In Between by Debbie Tung eARC, 160 pages Published June 2nd 2020 by Andrews McMeel Publishing ✰✰✰✰.5 From the bestselling author of Quiet Girl in a Noisy World and Book Love comes a funny and adorable collection of comics about married life, specifically an introvert married to an extrovert! Debbie Tung’s tender, funny, and … More Mini Reviews: Graphic Novels & Illustrated Books

Seasons of the Storm by Elle Cosimano

Seasons of the Storm by Elle Cosimano eARC, 382 pages Expected publication: June 23rd 2020 by HarperTeen ✰✰✰ For fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Laini Taylor, a perfect storm lies ahead in this riveting fantasy duology opener from award-winning author Elle Cosimano. One cold, crisp night, Jack Sommers was faced with a choice—live forever according … More Seasons of the Storm by Elle Cosimano

Mini Review: Mermaid Moon, The Good Son, and Heir to the Underworld

Mermaid Moon by Susann Cokal eARC Published March 3rd 2020 by Candlewick Press An award-winning author tells of a mermaid who leaves the sea in search of her landish mother in a captivating tale spun with beautiful prose, lush descriptions, empathy, and keen wit. Blood calls to blood; charm calls to charm. It is the … More Mini Review: Mermaid Moon, The Good Son, and Heir to the Underworld

Double Review: The Wrongful Death & The Angel of Evil by Kenneth B. Andersen

The Wrongful Death by Kenneth B. Andersen Book #3 of The Great Devil War eARC Published April 19th 2019 ✰✰✰✰ An unfortunate chain of events makes Philip responsible for the untimely death of the school bully Sam—the Devil’s original choice for an heir. Philip must return to Hell to find Sam and bring him back … More Double Review: The Wrongful Death & The Angel of Evil by Kenneth B. Andersen

Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas // When in Aruba…

Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas ebook, 400 pages Published July 16th 2013 by Simon Pulse ✰✰✰ It’s Spring Break of senior year. Anna, her boyfriend Tate, her best friend Elise, and a few other close friends are off on a debaucherous trip to Aruba that promises to be the time of their lives. But when Elise … More Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas // When in Aruba…

Illusion by Martina Boone // One last trip to the Watson Island

Illusion by Martina Boone Kindle Edition, 320 pages Published October 25th 2016 by Simon Pulse ✰✰✰ Caged by secrets all around her and haunted by mistakes that have estranged her from Eight Beaufort, Barrie Watson is desperate to break the curse that puts her family in danger — without breaking the beautiful magic that protects Watson’s … More Illusion by Martina Boone // One last trip to the Watson Island

Small Spaces by Katherine Arden // Beware of large places…..

Small Spaces by Katherine Arden eBook, 224 pages Published September 25th 2018 by G.P. Putnam & Sons for Young Readers ✰✰✰ Bestselling adult author of The Bear and the Nightingale makes her middle grade debut with a creepy, spellbinding ghost story destined to become a classic. Now in paperback. After suffering a tragic loss, eleven-year-old … More Small Spaces by Katherine Arden // Beware of large places…..

Mini Reviews: Recent Reads, part III // Myths, killer woods, and essay collection from women who reported from battlefield

Mythos: A Retelling of the Myths of Ancient Greece by Stephen Fry Paperback, 442 pages Published July 26th 2018 by Penguin ✰✰.5 No one loves and quarrels, desires and deceives as boldly or brilliantly as Greek gods and goddesses. In Stephen Fry’s vivid retelling we gaze in wonder as wise Athena is born from the cracking … More Mini Reviews: Recent Reads, part III // Myths, killer woods, and essay collection from women who reported from battlefield