Mini Reviews: May-July Graphic Novel

Manga Yokai Stories by Sean Michael Wilson eARC, 136 pages Expected publication: September 15th 2020 ✰✰✰✰✰ This thrilling collection of seven Japanese ghost stories will captivate lovers of yokai stories! Manga Yokai Stories includes: Nuke-kubi: A masterless samurai is trapped in a house haunted by headless goblins The Screen Maiden: A young man develops an … More Mini Reviews: May-July Graphic Novel

Seasons of the Storm by Elle Cosimano

Seasons of the Storm by Elle Cosimano eARC, 382 pages Expected publication: June 23rd 2020 by HarperTeen ✰✰✰ For fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Laini Taylor, a perfect storm lies ahead in this riveting fantasy duology opener from award-winning author Elle Cosimano. One cold, crisp night, Jack Sommers was faced with a choice—live forever according … More Seasons of the Storm by Elle Cosimano

Dark and Deepest Red by Anna-Marie McLemore // Slow paced and not what I expected

Dark and Deepest Red by Anna-Marie McLemore eARC, 320 pages Expected publication: January 14th 2020 by Feiwel Friends ✰.5 Summer, 1518. A strange sickness sweeps through Strasbourg: women dance in the streets, some until they fall down dead. As rumors of witchcraft spread, suspicion turns toward Lavinia and her family, and Lavinia may have to … More Dark and Deepest Red by Anna-Marie McLemore // Slow paced and not what I expected

Rogue Princess by B.R Myers // Gender-bent Cinderella sets in space

Rogue Princess by B.R. Myers eARC, 304 pages Expected publication: January 21st 2020 by Swoon Reads ✰✰ A princess fleeing an arranged marriage teams up with a snarky commoner to foil a rebel plot in B. R. Myers’ Rogue Princess, a gender-swapped sci-fi YA retelling of Cinderella. Princess Delia knows her duty: She must choose … More Rogue Princess by B.R Myers // Gender-bent Cinderella sets in space

Mini Reviews: Recent Reads, Part IV // Back to Southern Gothic Plantation, Murderous Prairie, and The Kardashians in Greek Mythology

Persuasion by Martina Boone ebook, 464 pages Published October 27th 2015 by Simon Pulse ✰✰✰ Grieving the death of her godfather and haunted by her cousin Cassie’s betrayal, Barrie returns from a trip to San Francisco to find the Watson plantation under siege. Ghost-hunters hope to glimpse the ancient spirit who sets the river on fire … More Mini Reviews: Recent Reads, Part IV // Back to Southern Gothic Plantation, Murderous Prairie, and The Kardashians in Greek Mythology

Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix by Julie C. Dao

Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix by Julie C. Dao ebook, 384 pages Published November 6th 2018 by Philomel Books (Penguin Random House) ✰✰✰✰.5 This fairy tale retelling lives in a mystical world inspired by the Far East, where the Dragon Lord and the Serpent God battle for control of the earthly realm; it is here that … More Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix by Julie C. Dao

The Cold is in Her Bones by Peternelle van Arsdale // Has a lot of potential, but ended up being very underwhelming

The Cold is in Her Bones by Peternelle van Arsdale E-book, 288 pages Published January 22nd 2019 by Margaret K. McElderry Books ✰.5 One girl must uncover secrets of the past to save her friend from a terrible curse in this dark and mesmerizing story of love, revenge, and redemption inspired by the myth of Medusa. Milla … More The Cold is in Her Bones by Peternelle van Arsdale // Has a lot of potential, but ended up being very underwhelming

The Afterlife of Holly Chase by Cynthia Hand // Because every Scrooge deserves a second chance…

The Afterlife of Holly Chase by Cynthia Hand E-book, 416 pages Published October 24th, 2017 by Harper Teen ✰✰✰✰ On Christmas Eve five years ago, Holly was visited by three ghosts who showed her how selfish and spoiled she’d become. They tried to convince her to mend her ways. She didn’t. And then she died. … More The Afterlife of Holly Chase by Cynthia Hand // Because every Scrooge deserves a second chance…

Sea Witch by Sarah Henning // Not what I expected, but it hits all the right feelings

Sea Witch by Sarah Henning E-arc, 368 pages Published July 31st, 2018 by Katherine Tegen Books ✰✰✰✰ Everyone knows what happens in the end. A mermaid, a prince, a true love’s kiss. But before that young siren’s tale, there were three friends. One feared, one royal, and one already dead. ~~~~~~~~~~ Ever since her best … More Sea Witch by Sarah Henning // Not what I expected, but it hits all the right feelings